2015 La Madrid Challenge.

Your Friday Daily News Digest

by Neal Rogers

July 14, 2017

In today’s Daily News: Bardet takes win atop Peyragudes, Aru takes maillot jaune from Froome; Cromwell continues Canyon-SRAM success in Thüringen with Stage 1 victory; Edmondson first leader in BeNe Ladies Tour after winning prologue; French favoritism? Uran, Bennett docked 20 seconds on GC for illegal feed; Bardet not penalized for same offense; Dan Martin moves into fifth overall at Tour de France; 22 teams announced for Madrid Challenge by La Vuelta; Video: GoPro’s Tour de France Stage 12 highlights.

2015 La Madrid Challenge.

22 teams announced for Madrid Challenge by La Vuelta

by CyclingTips

For the third consecutive year, the streets of the Spanish capital will host the Madrid Challenge by La Vuelta, a competition that, after several editions, has earned its place in the international calendar and is now the final event of the UCI Women’s WorldTour season.

On Thursday, organisers announced  the teams that will take part in the third edition of the Spanish women’s race. Madrid Challenge by La Vuelta will be held September 10 on the same circuit that will host the men’s peloton for the final stage of La Vuelta 2017.

Organisers also announced that WNT, which sponsors a British women’s team, will sponsor the Madrid Challenge by La Vuelta over the next four years. The British team was one of three wildcard invitees for the 2017 event.

19 UCI WorldTeams are automatically invited to the race:
Boels Dolmans Cycling Team (NED)
Wiggle High5 (GBR)
Wm3 Pro Cycling Team (NED)
Team Sunweb (NED)
Ale’ Cipollini (ITA)
Cylance Pro Cycling (USA)
Team Velo Concept Women (DEN)
Bepink Cogeas (ITA)
Hitec Products (NOR)
Lares-Waowdeals Women Cycling Team (BEL)
Lensworld-Kuota (BEL)
Fdj Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope (FRA)
Btc City Liubliana (SLO)
Lotto soudal Ladies (BEL)
Drops Cycling Team (GBR)
Bizkaia-Durango (ESP)
Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team (NED)
Sas-Macogep (CAN)
Sport Vlaanderen-Etixx (BEL)

In addition to these 19 teams, the organisers have awarded the following wildcards:
España (ESP)
Lointek (ESP)
Team WNT Pro Cycling (GBR)