Your Wednesday Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

March 15, 2017

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Quintana wins Tirreno-Adriatico as Dennis wins final TT; Team Sky had previously bought Fluimucil at nearby pharmacy; Roswell-Shand retires at 28; After Tirreno, all eyes shift to Milano-San Remo, with Quick-Step Floors as favourites; Cavendish comes into Milano-San Remo ready after quiet Tirreno; Dumoulin calls Tirreno TT ‘disappointing’; Dog walker nearly takes out Sagan in Tirreno TT; Berlin cyclist throwing battery acid at women; Cycle lane paint linked to two deaths; Speed bumps to be added to Broad Walk in Hyde Park; Tirreno-Adriatico: Stage seven highlights; Video: All roads lead to Nordkapp.

After Tirreno, all eyes shift to Milano-San Remo, with Quick-Step Floors as favourites

by CyclingTips

Now that the ‘Race of Two Seas’ is in the books, the cycling world is keeping its attention in Italy for the next Monument, Milano-San Remo. While world champ Peter Sagan (BORA-hansgrohe) has proven he should always be considered a favourite, the team that has multiple chances is Quick-Step Floors, with four riders that would be a leader on any other team.

Along with veterans Tom Boonen and Philippe Gilbert, the team has the young Julian Alaphilippe who is an effective climber and excels in these types of races. And if it comes down to a group sprint, Fernando Gaviria is coming off a stage win in Tirreno over Sagan.

“We have a squad with a lot of depth, capable of playing different cards, depending on the race scenario. It goes without saying that we hope to get a good result, but you can never be sure about anything when it comes to Milano-Sanremo. It’s like a Jack-in-the box, it can always spring a surprise”, said sport director Davide Bramati.

“The race will become very nervous once the succession of Capi begins, as riders will fight for positioning, so it will be important to stay safe and overcome these obstacles before Cipressa and Poggio, the main difficulties of the day.”

However, ‘La Classicissima’ has not been very kind to Patrick Lefevere’s squads, not having a winner since Filippo Pozzato in 2006.