Your Monday Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

January 30, 2017

In today’s edition of the CT Daily News Digest: Wout van Aert wins his second World Cyclocross Championship; Sanne Cant crowned World CX Champion – “It’s the most beautiful day of my life!”; Nikias Arndt wins men’s Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race; Annemiek van Vleuten victorious in women’s Cadel’s Race; Bauke Mollema wins the Vuelta a San Juan, Maximiliano Richeze claims the last two stages; Dan McLay wins Trofeo Palma but is hospitalised following post-race crash; Philadelphia Cycling Classic cancelled for 2017; Alexis Vuillermoz injured in a car crash; How not to pull off after doing a turn at the front; Highlights from the VTWO/CyclingTips Carpark Climb at the Tour Down Under.

Annemiek van Vleuten victorious in women’s Cadel’s Race

by Simone Giuliani

Annemiek van Vleuten took the win at the 2017 women’s Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race for Orica-Scott, in an exciting attack-filled competition that deviated from the expected script.

There were frequent attacks, splits in the crosswinds, a solo break by Emma Pooley (Holden Women’s Racing) that enlivened the finish, and a final dash to the line between an unexpected group of five non-sprinters.

In the sprint it was Ruth Winder (UnitedHealthcare) who took second behind van Vleuten in the UCI 1.2 classified race, while Mayuko Hagiwara (Wiggle High5) came third. Lucy Kennedy (High5 Dream Team) was fourth ahead of Pooley. Van Vleuten had come into the race in support of team leaders Amanda Spratt and Kat Garfoot.

“I target actually the beginning of March to be in really good shape, so I said I would like to help my team, my teammates and be a domestique,” van Vleuten told reporters. “So I did some work already in race but in the end I was still there.”

However, no one would have doubted that van Vleuten was up to the task of taking the win for Australia’s only UCI registered women’s team, having come back so strongly from that horrific crash at the Rio Olympics late last year.

1. nl
Orica - Scott
2. us
UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Women’s Team
3. jp
Wiggle High5

Follow the link to read more at Ella CyclingTips.