Your Friday Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

February 24, 2017

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Cavendish takes first 2017 win at Abu Dhabi Tour; McCabe wins second stage of Tour de Langkawi, Gibbons into lead; Dennis wins Tour de La Provence as Mattia Cattaneo takes final stage; Ariesen wins second stage of Volta ao Alentejo; Cycling Australia poaches Sky’s Simon Jones to head high performance; Van Avermaet heads into Spring Classics with confidence of an Olympic champion; Owain Doull claims disc rotor sliced his shoe in sprint crash on Abu Dhabi stage; Women’s Amstel Gold Race will use traditional Cauberg finish; Belgians Boonen, Vanmarcke ready to start Classics season at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne; Baloise Belgium Tour announces 2017 route; Laura Kenny awarded 2016 FT Bidlake Memorial Prize; Trial date set for Armstrong federal whistleblower case; Highlights: Abu Dhabi Tour, stage 1; Highlights: Volta ao Alentejo, stage 1.

Ariesen wins second stage of Volta ao Alentejo

by Mark Zalewski

Johim Ariesen (Metec-TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel) won the second stage of the Volta ao Alentejo ahead of Carlos Barbero (Movistar) and Colin Joyce (Rally Cycling). Barbero, who finished third on the opening stage, takes over the race lead.

“It was a very fast ride today,” said Ariesen. “The first two hours went quickly.”

Edward Dunbar (Axeon Hagens Berman), Hakon Trondsen (Sparebanken Sor), Anton Vorobyev (Gazprom RusVelo) and Krister Hagen (Team Coop) tried a breakaway and managed to build a gap of a few minutes, but the Movistar team did a lot of work to keep the gap down.

“This was an excellent opportunity for Johim,” said team leader Adri van Houwelingen. “And he finished it off handsomely. The last fifteen kilometres was open and without curves. The team rode well in front so that Johim could start in a good position for the sprint.”

Ariesen now has a three second lead over previous race leader Rinaldo Nocentini (Sporting Clube de Portugal/Tavira).

Stage 2: Monforte > Portel - Stage Result

Thursday 23rd February 2017

1. nl
Metec - TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel
2. es
Movistar Team
3. us
Rally Cycling