Wiggins for Rowing Champs, Matthews wins Oppy Medal: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

November 18, 2017

Wiggins confirmed for British Rowing Indoor Championships; Matthews wins first Oppy Medal; Controversial former Team Sky doctor asked to leave track World Cup; No Motor Needed: Cancellara challenges Gaimon; Van Vleuten confirms her plans to target the individual pursuit at track world championships; Changing names: Team WNT Pro Cycling is takes on Rotor as title sponsor; Australian Cyclocross Nationals back in Victoria in 2018, C2 race returns; An Post Rás sponsor search continues as Dignam takes up race director role; Vittoria pressure sees cycling website drop controversial photo section; Video: Safety drive course UAE Team Emirates and Mitsubishi; Video: Incredible Artistic Cycling Tricks! | People are Awesome; Video: Japanese keirin

Australian Cyclocross Nationals back in Victoria in 2018, C2 race returns

by Simone Giuliani

Mountain Bike Australia has announced the 2018 dates for Australia’s National Cyclocross Series and Championships, with the race to decide who will wear the green and gold stripes returning to Victoria after two years in South Australia.

National Series rounds will start in June, running across the states of South Australia, New South Wales, Queensland and Victoria. The series finale will be at Fields of Joy, during the international C2 classified race, the Melbourne Grand Prix of Cyclocross which will again finish off the Australian season at the end of August.

The National Championships will be held at the scenic Sam Miranda Winery in Victoria’s King Valley on August 11 and 12. The course through the vineyards, paddocks and boggy flood plains hosted the Victorian state championships in 2016, but it’ll be the venue’s first National Championships.

“Riders will have the opportunity to experience some new venues next year as well as return to the popular courses that were so well received this season, and of course we encourage more international riders to compete at our C2 event held again in Melbourne,” said MTBA chief executive Shane Coppin.

For all dates and venues, see the MTBA release here.