Cookson wants Sky reputation restored; Dimension Data on Sagan: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

December 7, 2017

Cookson says Wiggins and Sky should have their reputations ‘reinstated’; Dimension Data ‘surprised’ not to be involved in UCI/Sagan crash investigation; Omloop Het Nieuwsblad mimics finale of past Tour of Flanders; Budget boost for FDJ as team gains new sponsor; Australian national champions Scotson and Garfoot confirm for title defences; Fundraiser for Dave Towle set to surpass target; Video: Behind the Ride with Dan Craven; Video: Catching Breath: Cycling up the Himalayas; Video: Crosshairs Television | 2017 Rapha Supercross Nobeyama Women’s Elite Day 2

Australian national champions Scotson and Garfoot confirm for title defences

by VeloClub

The current Australian road race champions Miles Scotson (BMC Racing) and Katrin Garfoot (QAS) have confirmed that they will line out in January’s championships, chasing repeat victories and also the Commonwealth Games team slot that would bring.

“Leading into Commonwealth Games, it will be big,” said Garfoot, who will ride in Queensland Academy of Sport colours in Ballarat. “It will be very hard this year to defend the road title because of this, riders want to qualify for the Games. I think that I will be well covered in the race and not being part of the Orica team in 2018 means I will have a few more high quality opponents this year. Others lining out will be BMC Racing teammates Richie Porte, Rohan Dennis and double champion Simon Gerrans.

“It will be nice to go into the road race with numbers,” said Porte, who took bronze behind Gerrans in both 2012 and 2014. “With the numbers that we have, four strong guys, I believe we have the guys to do it (win). If it’s not me, to have someone of the calibre of Simon come and join the team in 2018, Rohan is always up for a good fight and Miles showed last year he could do it.”

Dennis, Porte, Cameron Meyer and Luke Durbridge (both Orica-Scott) have confirmed for the men’s time trial. The women’s road race will feature Garfoot, Orica-Scott’s dual winners Amanda Spratt (2012 & 2016) and Gracie Elvin (2013 & 14), plus 2015 champion Peta Mullens (Hagens Berman–Supermint). Garfoot is chasing her third consecutive TT title, but will be up against five-time winner Shara Gillow (FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope) and others.

Click through to read more about the various lineups on the Cycling Australia site.