Your Friday Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

February 24, 2017

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Cavendish takes first 2017 win at Abu Dhabi Tour; McCabe wins second stage of Tour de Langkawi, Gibbons into lead; Dennis wins Tour de La Provence as Mattia Cattaneo takes final stage; Ariesen wins second stage of Volta ao Alentejo; Cycling Australia poaches Sky’s Simon Jones to head high performance; Van Avermaet heads into Spring Classics with confidence of an Olympic champion; Owain Doull claims disc rotor sliced his shoe in sprint crash on Abu Dhabi stage; Women’s Amstel Gold Race will use traditional Cauberg finish; Belgians Boonen, Vanmarcke ready to start Classics season at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne; Baloise Belgium Tour announces 2017 route; Laura Kenny awarded 2016 FT Bidlake Memorial Prize; Trial date set for Armstrong federal whistleblower case; Highlights: Abu Dhabi Tour, stage 1; Highlights: Volta ao Alentejo, stage 1.

Baloise Belgium Tour announces 2017 route

by CyclingTips

The five-day Baloise Belgium Tour stage race will again tackle the hilly Belgian countryside and will include a 12.6 kilometre individual time trial as well as a ‘mini version’ of Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

Dries Devenyns won the 2016 Baloise Belgium Tour.

Saturday’s queen stage will start and finish in Ans and cover the finale of Liège-Bastogne-Liège with the climbs of the Côte de Saint-Nicolas, Côte de la Roche aux Faucons and La Redoute.

Last year the stage through the Ardennes was cancelled after the crash that left Stig Broeckx in a coma.

The ‘Golden Kilometre’ contest will return after its introduction in 2016. One kilometre from the last 20-25 kilometres will have bonus sprints at the beginning, middle and with three, two and one seconds for the top three places.

The 2.HC race will run from May 23 to 28.