Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

June 23, 2016

In today’s CT Daily News Digest: Dries de Bondt wins Halle-Ingooigem; LottoNL-Jumbo team demands apology over hidden motor claims against Roglic; Despite Olympic selection, Dimension Data wants Cavendish to complete Tour; Strava report debunks myth that women; Talansky re-signs with Cannondale, skipping Tour; Team Sky Tour de France roster; BMC Tour de France roster; LottoNL-Jumbo for Tour de France; Controversy over leaked British Olympic cycling roster; Emma Pooley signs with Lotto-Soudal; Favourites for Dutch TT title absent; Win your commute with Tour de Bike Lane; Ion Izaguirre hits 110km/h at Suisse time trial; Chris Hoy races Le Mans

BMC Tour de France roster

by CyclingTips

Richie Porte and Tejay van Garderen are the two GC riders for BMC in their dual-leader strategy for the Tour de France. Today the team announced the seven riders who will support them.

Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Prologue

“If we could have selected 11 riders we would have done so, but in the end I think we have chosen a fantastic group of riders who will provide the best support possible for Richie and Tejay,” sports director Yvon Ledanois said.

In addition to supporting Porte and van Garderen, many of the riders are strong enough to go for stage wins if the opportunities present themselves. “We have a diverse group of riders, from seven different nationalities, all of whom will play their role, whether it’s our strong domestiques like Marcus Burghardt and Michael Schär, or riders like Greg Van Avermaet and Rohan Dennis who can go for stage wins,” said Ledanois.

“To know that Tejay and I will be supported by such a strong group of guys is really motivating,” said Porte. “I’ve already raced with these seven riders a lot this season and I’m confident that we are going into the Tour de France in a really good position.”

“I’m taking confidence out of the Tour de Suisse heading into the Tour de France, especially with the team that we are taking,” van Garderen said. ” I’ve already raced the Tour de France a couple of times with most of these guys, so I couldn’t be happier to line up with them once again.”

Brent Bookwalter (USA)
Marcus Burghardt (GER)
Damiano Caruso (ITA)
Rohan Dennis (AUS)
Amaël Moinard (FRA)
Richie Porte (AUS), Michael Schär (SUI)
Greg Van Avermaet (BEL)
Tejay van Garderen (USA)