Your Monday Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

June 12, 2017

In today’s edition of the CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Jakob Fuglsang wins the Criterium du Dauphine with final-stage raid; Stefan Kung leads the Tour de Suisse after two stages; Kasia Niewiadoma wins the OVO Energy Women’s Tour; Lucas Hamilton up to third overall at the ‘Baby Giro’; Cameron Meyer takes his first win on the road in 2017; Froome sees Porte as Tour de France favourite; Fuglsang and Aru to be Astana co-leaders at the Tour?; Trans Am leadership shifts, Tour Divide kicks off; 68-year-old track cyclist tests positive … again; Sarah Roy’s post-win crash; Phil Gaimon’s “Worst Retirement Ever,” Episode 4 — Mt. Mitchell.

Cameron Meyer takes his first win on the road in 2017

by CyclingTips

Cameron Meyer has posted some impressive results since his return to racing late last year, not least two track world titles back in April. But now the 29-year-old has his first win on the road for the year and indeed since he won the Jayco Herald Sun Tour in February 2015.

Riding for the Australian National Team, Meyer scooped up victory in the Dwars door de Vlaamse Ardennen (UCI 1.2) after riding away from the rest of the field. Meyer spent the final 30 kilometres of the Flemish race on his own, having bridged across to a lead group with teammate Callum Scotson, 50km from the finish.

“It was a tough race and really one of my first times racing in Belgium in the Flanders region so to win solo I’m very happy,” Meyer said. “[It] was definitely fast and hard. 200km and the famous climbs of the Ronde van Vlaanderen — I’m glad I had good legs.

“It is part of the process of getting back to winning. I have done it on the track and now to do it on the road I’m really happy.”

Meyer won the race by nearly a minute, earning himself a cobblestone in the process:

Cameron Meyer earned this today for his solo victory at Dwars door de Vlaamse Ardennen. #AussieCycling

A post shared by Cycling Australia (@cyclingaustralia) on

1. au
MEYER Cameron
2. be
Wanty - Groupe Gobert
3. be
WB Veranclassic Aqua Protect