Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

June 28, 2016

In today’s CT Daily News Digest: Hidden motors: 3-4000 UCI tests at Tour, but French announce own plans; MPCC stands with fight against technological fraud; Dan Martin: Ready to take on the big guns in the Tour de France; King may appeal Olympics snub; Orica-GreenEdge for the Tour de France; Trek-Segafredo Tour de France team; Cannondale Pro Cycling Tour de France roster; Former British Olympian dies in cycling crash; Seven WorldTour teams for Revolution Series; Study finds Tour de Yorkshire boosted economy by £60m; Crash determines Canadian men’s road championship; Focus on Marianne Vos

Cannondale Pro Cycling Tour de France roster

by CyclingTips

Cannondale Pro Cycling announced its Tour de France team, centered around Frenchman Pierre Rolland. Rolland came to the American team this year from Europcar and has three top-ten overall finishes and two stage wins at past Tours.

“We’ll be centering the team around Pierre Rolland, as this back-end loaded Tour de France uniquely suits his diesel-like qualities,” Slipstream Sports CEO Jonathan Vaughters said. “He may not be the most explosive rider, but come the last few days of the Tour de France, he will surprise a few folks.”

“I hope for a great performance, from me, from the team,” said Rolland. “What I’d really like is a new stage victory and to have the best possible overall standing. The competition is very hard, everyone is ready at 100 percent. I know it will be difficult, but I will do my utmost.”

Vaughters said that Craddock was chosen to give him GrandTour experience but will be one to watch.

“My main goal is to come in and show that I can race consistently at a high level throughout the whole race,” said Craddock. “Personally, I think that’s the next step in my development. If I can do that, and just be able to put the team in the best possible position for success, then I will be happy.”

Matti Breschel
Lawson Craddock
Alex Howes
Kristijan Koren
Sebastian Langeveld
Ramunas Navardauskas
Pierre Rolland
Tom-Jelte Slagter
Dylan Van Baarle