Your Wednesday Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

April 5, 2017

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Albasini wins sprint on second stage of Pais Vasco, Matthews retains lead; Jules wins Circuit Cycliste Sarthe opener; Carpenter, Winder win Joe Martin Stage Race in Arkansas; Flanders champ Gilbert to skip Paris-Roubaix; Naesen taking aim at Paris-Roubaix; Sinkeldam tapped for Sunweb in Paris-Roubaix; Leopold König unable to race Giro due to injury; Scheldeprijs set to honour Boonen in his final Belgian race; Keagan Girdlestone completes first race as recovery continues to go well; Chris Hoy looking to ride across Antartica; Video: Meet Sarah Hammer; Video: Ride. Run. Play. Episode 1; Video: High Country Charity Ride.

Carpenter, Winder win Joe Martin Stage Race in Arkansas

by Neal Rogers

Rally Cycling’s Adam de Vos won the opening stage, a 5km uphill time trial, and held the leader’s jersey for three days before Robin Carpenter (Holowesko-Citadel) broke clear on a rainy final-day criterium in downtown Fayetteville to take the stage win and overall title. Sebastian Haedo (UnitedHealthcare) won the second stage, while Rally Cycling’s Eric Young took the third stage. Axeon Hagens Berman rider Rui Oliveira, a 20-year from Portugal, finished as the best young rider.

In the women’s race, Ruth Winder, a team pursuit world champion and Olympic medalist, won the opening time trial and her UnitedHealthcare team defended the race lead throughout. Winder also won the second stage, with unsung Lily Williams (Sun and Ski) taking the third stage. Winder won the final-day criterium, countering attacks and sprinting on the hard uphill finish to seal the general classification and sprint points competitions.

“I was taken good care of by the team,” she said. “I guess I picked the right time to sprint because I was able to pull off the win. I’m really happy for the win myself and for the team.”

Joe Martin Stage Race Final General Classification | Men
1. Robin Carpenter (Holowesko-Citadel)
2. Adam De Vos (Rally Cycling)
3. Gavin Mannion (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling)

Joe Martin Stage Race Final General Classification | Women
1. Ruth Winder (UnitedHealthcare)
2. Lauren Stephens (Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank)
3. Claire Rose (Visit Dallas DNA)