Your Friday Daily News Digest

by Neal Rogers

July 7, 2017

In today’s Daily News Digest: Kittel takes second sprint victory of Tour de France, again ahead of Démare; Sheyla Gutierrez fastest of the break after an action-packed Stage 7 at Giro Rosa; Astana’s Lopez wins summit finish at Tour of Austria as Denifl moves into GC lead; Ruth Winder in yellow after solo victory on opening stage of Tour de Feminin; Valcar PBM rider Claudia Cretti involved in serious incident at Giro Rosa Stage 7; Cavendish receiving online abuse after Sagan’s expulsion from Tour de France; CAS rejects Bora-Hansgrohe’s appeal against Sagan’s Tour de France disqualification; Video: GoPro’s Tour de France Stage 6 highlights; Video: Taylor Phinney, on Alberto Contador’s pink whistle at the Tour de France; Video: In a first, bomb-sniffing dogs are deployed at the Tour de France; Video: Tour de France organizers implement system to empty septic tanks from team buses at every start and finish; Video: British cyclist David Smith faced a third life-threatening surgery in six years; Video: Raccoon pedals a tricycle.

CAS rejects Bora-Hansgrohe’s appeal against Sagan’s Tour de France disqualification

by VeloClub

Issuing its ruling two days after the Bora-hansgrohe team appealed Peter Sagan’s disqualification from the Tour de France, the Court of Arbitration for Sport has rejected the action.It announced the ruling on Thursday afternoon, hours after the team told CyclingTips that it had lodged such an appeal.

“The Court of Arbitration of Sport (CAS) issued a decision rejecting an urgent request for provisional measures filed by the Slovak cyclist Peter Sagan and the Denk Pro Cycling team in the afternoon of 5 July 2017,” it said in a brief release. “The rider and team appealed the exclusion of the rider by the UCI Commissaires Panel on 4 July 2017 following an incident during the sprint phase at the end of the 4th stage of the 2017 Tour de France (Mondorf-les-Bains to Vittel). Accordingly, Peter Sagan remains disqualified from the 2017 Tour de France.”

Asked if any decision against the Tour jury was purely symbolic, team press officer Ralph Scherzer disagreed. Indeed, he floated the possibility that the rider could be reinstated, even though he would have missed at least two stages of the race.

“I have no idea what will happen if the CAS says the decision was wrong because there were formal mistakes or anything. Because then it would mean that Peter is allowed to race,” he said. “But how to put him in the race again…I have no idea. You would need to ask the UCI or lawyers or whatever. But officially [after such a decision], then he would be allowed to race.”

Following the CAS decision, this now will not happen. However it is possible the team may take alternative legal routes, seeking financial compensation in the courts for the rider’s exclusion from the race.

Click through to read the full story.

BACK TO TOP