Impey wins Tour Down Under; Giro d’Italia picks wildcards: Daily News Digest

by Neal Rogers

January 22, 2018

In today’s edition of the CT Daily News Digest: Impey wins Santos Tour Down Under, Greipel claims final stage; Van der Poel, Compton win Cyclocross World Cup in Nommay; Citing fever, Nibali withdraws from Vuelta a San Juan; Government of South Australia guarantees equal prize money at TDU; Dimension Data boss: No room for Teklehaimanot, but he’ll have new team soon; RCS Sport announces wildcards for Giro d’Italia plus other WorldTour events; Israel Cycling Academy celebrating Giro wildcard invitation; Bardiani-CSF secures second chance at Giro; Video: Katusha-Alpecin works on dialing in Marcel Kittel’s leadout train; Video: Molly Weaver on surviving catastrophic 2017 training incident; Video: Fan-made 2018 WorldTour season trailer.

Citing fever, Nibali withdraws from Vuelta a San Juan in Argentina

by Neal Rogers

Italian Vincenzo Nibali, the biggest name on the start list for the Vuelta a San Juan in western Argentina, was forced to withdraw prior to the start of the opening stage Sunday due to illness. Just a few minutes prior to the start, organizers announced that Nibali, 33, was suffering from “intense fever” and would not be able to compete.

The seven-stage 2.1 Vuelta a San Juan features seven WorldTour teams, including Bahrain-Merida, Lotto-Soudal, UAE Team Emirates, Trek-Segafredo, Movistar, and Quick-Step Floors. Key stages include the 14.4km time trial and the summit finish at Alto Colorado. Other GC contenders include Rafal Majka (Bora-Hansgrohe), Eduardo Sepúlveda (Movistar), Óscar Sevilla (Medellin-Inder), and Rodolfo Torres (Androni-Sidermec). The field also includes five Pro Continental teams, nine Continental teams, and six national teams.

Colombian sprinter Fernando Gaviria, winner of two stages in 2017, is again a favorite in bunch sprints, helped by leadout man Max Richeze, who also won two stages last year. Other fast finishers include Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo), Niccolò Bonifazio (Bahrain-Merida), Tiesj Bennot (Lotto-Soudal), Kristian Sbaragli (Israel Cycling Academy), Manuel Belletti (Androni-Sidermec), and Matteo Pelucchi (Bora-Hansgrohe).