Your Thursday Daily News Digest

by Neal Rogers

May 25, 2017

In today’s Daily News Digest: Pierre Rolland solos to victory from breakaway on Stage 17 of Giro d’Italia; Velon shares power data on Rolland’s Giro stage win; Coquard wins opening stage of Baloise Belgium Tour; Aussie Michael Storer takes stage win at An Post Rás; Aberasturi wins Stage 4 at Tour of Japan, Canola holds GC lead; Martyn Irvine sidelined after suffering hip fracture in Baloise Belgium Tour; UCI suspends Soul Brasil Pro Cycling for 35 days for multiple doping violations; Synergy Baku fires Averin after UCI doping ban is imposed; Colorado Classic names 14 teams, including four WorldTour squads; Monash University researchers seek Melbourne cyclists for passing distance study; Video: Orica-Scott reviews their day after Stage 17 of the Giro d’Italia

Colorado Classic names 14 teams, including four WorldTour squads

by Neal Rogers

The inaugural Colorado Classic, a UCI 2.HC stage race, announced 14 teams that will participate in the August 10-13 event. Additional squads will be added in coming weeks to bring the field to between 16 and 18 teams, organizers said. Four UCI World Teams were invited, including three that are registered in the United States: BMC Racing, Cannondale-Drapac, Trek-Segafredo, and UAE Team Emirates.

Five UCI Professional Continental teams were invited: Caja Rural-Seguros RGA, Israel Cycling Academy, Nippo-Vini Fantini, Team Novo Nordisk, and UnitedHealthcare. Additionally, five UCI Continental teams, all registered with USA Cycling, were invited: Axeon Hagens Berman, Elevate-KHS, Holowesko-Citadel, Jelly Belly-Maxxis, and Rally Cycling.

“With increased demands on teams dictated by a crowded international calendar, we are extremely grateful to the committed teams,”said David Koff, CEO of RPM Events Group, the organization formed to put on the race. “The quality of the field once again validates Colorado as a world-class cycling destination.”

The men’s race will cover roughly 300 miles over 4 stages:
Stage 1: Colorado Springs (Thursday, August 10)
Stage 2: Breckenridge (Friday, August 11)
Stage 3: Denver / Peak to Peak Hwy out-and-back: (Saturday, August 12)
Stage 4: Denver city circuit (Sunday, August 13)