Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

June 23, 2016

In today’s CT Daily News Digest: Dries de Bondt wins Halle-Ingooigem; LottoNL-Jumbo team demands apology over hidden motor claims against Roglic; Despite Olympic selection, Dimension Data wants Cavendish to complete Tour; Strava report debunks myth that women; Talansky re-signs with Cannondale, skipping Tour; Team Sky Tour de France roster; BMC Tour de France roster; LottoNL-Jumbo for Tour de France; Controversy over leaked British Olympic cycling roster; Emma Pooley signs with Lotto-Soudal; Favourites for Dutch TT title absent; Win your commute with Tour de Bike Lane; Ion Izaguirre hits 110km/h at Suisse time trial; Chris Hoy races Le Mans

Controversy over leaked British Olympic cycling roster

by CyclingTips

A leaked copy of the cycling line-up for Great Britain at the Rio Olympics is causing a lot of controversy over who is not on the list. Most notably, Dani King, who won gold in the team pursuit at the London Games, was not selected.

Dani King sprinting away from her teammates

Dani King sprinting away from her teammates

King, who suffered a bad crash during a training ride in 2014, had fully recovered and was aiming to represent Great Britain in the Olympic road race. Instead, the leaked roster has Nikki Harris and Emma Pooley lining up to support Lizzie Armitstead. There has been criticism of Pooley’s selection as she had previously retired from cycling to focus on duathlon and triathlon. She returned to cycling this year in a bid to make the Rio Olympic squad.

According to the Daily Mail report, Mark Cavendish will ride the omnium and be the fifth rider on the team pursuit squad. Bradley Wiggins, Ed Clancy, Steven Burke and Owain Doull are the main four.

It is little surprise that Simon Yates is not on the list, as he was recently handed a four month suspension for a doping positive. Instead his twin brother Adam will be riding with Chris Froome, Geraint Thomas, Ian Stannard and Peter Kennaugh. Steve Cummings, a Tour de France stage winner, was not selected.

The other surprises came from the men’s sprint team. While Jason Kenny, Philip Hindes and Callum Skinner were expected to be the main squad, Ryan Owens was selected as a reserve rider over the more veteran Matt Crampton.

Click through to read more at the Daily Mail.