Geniez takes Tre Valli Varesine, Bennett wins in Munsterland: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

October 4, 2017

Geniez wins Tre Valli Varesine ahead of Pinot and Nibali; Bennett wins Sparkassen Munsterland Giro; De Buyst best in Binche-Chimay-Binche; As investigation into Rumsas’ son’s death continues, elder son tests positive; Exposed: the hidden motor used by French amateur; French amateur defends use of hidden motor: ‘I just did it to feel good again’; Bevin moves from Cannondale-Drapac to BMC Racing Team; Alvaro Hodeg signs first pro contract with Quick-Step Floors; Pirazzi banned for four years, Correia Diniz for eight; Fans save cancelled Philly Cycling Classic; race to return as “Independence Classic” in 2018; Hed Cycling announces Vanquish 6 road disc wheelset; Diamondback debuts radical new Io aero road bike; Video: Kellogg’s City Centre Cycling – Bristol 1984; Video: Goma Cycling Club training in 360

De Buyst best in Binche-Chimay-Binche

by VeloClub

Lotto-Soudal’s Jasper De Buyst was quickest in the three-man sprint which settled the Binche-Chimay-Binche race on Tuesday, beating Matteo Trentin (QuickStep Floors) and Tom Devriendt (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) in their tussle to the line. Trentin had made a strong move with a kilometre to go, but while he distanced many of the other riders from the day’s break, he couldn’t shake off the other two.

De Buyst was then clearly strongest in the gallop, netting his fourth victory of the season. He previously took the GP Stad Zottegem in August. “I’m very satisfied with my result, of course,” he said. “Binche-Chimay-Binche is a very difficult race, and if you can still win it at the end of the season, you can be happy. I beat Matteo Trentin, who is probably one of the best riders in the world at the moment, and that makes the victory a little more beautiful.”

The peloton fragmented early on due to aggressive racing, and with approximately two hours left ten riders were clear. Present were De Buyst, Trentin and Devriendt, as well as Trentin’s teammates Remi Cavagna and Petr Vakoc and De Buyst’s fellow Lotto-Soudal riders Twan Castelijns and Amund Grondahl Jansen (LottoNL-Jumbo).

Devriendt had Andrea Pasqualon as backup, while Jerome Mainard (Armee de Terre) and Rob Ruijgh (Tarteletto – Isorex) completed the group. The latter subsequently slipped backwards as did Castelijns.

Behind, a desperate chase proved unsuccessful and the break raced on towards the finish, where Trentin thinned things down to three with his big surge and then De Buyst surged forward to nab the win.

1. be
Lotto Soudal
2. it
Quick-Step Floors
3. be
Wanty - Groupe Gobert