Your Wednesday Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

August 23, 2017

In today’s edition of the Daily News Digest: Trentin wins stage 4 of the Vuelta a España; Viviani wins stage one of the Tour du Poitou-Charentes; De Buyst sprints to victory in GP Stad Zottegem; Majka loses more time, Vuelta GC challenge is over; Valverde returns to road training, aiming to compete again before end of season; Quick-Step Floors signs Michael Morkov, extends with Devenyns; Gary Sutton takes up key track role with USA Cycling; Silca Tattico Bluetooth pump measures tire pressure with your smartphone; Seven Cycles introduces MATADOR gravel fork; Video: Chris Froome press conference after Vuelta a España stage 4

De Buyst sprints to victory in GP Stad Zottegem

by VeloClub

Belgian rider Jasper De Buyst (Lotto-Soudal) clocked up his third win of 2017 on Tuesday, winning the GP Stad Zottegem in a big group sprint. He beat Joeri Stallaert (Cibel-Cebon), Kenny Dehaes (Wanty – Groupe Gobert), Timothy Dupont (Veranda’s Willems Crelan) and others to take the 1.1-ranked race.

“Of course I’m very happy with this win,” he said. “It’s my third victory this season. Sean De Bie and I were the two designated leaders and we ultimately found ourselves in a great situation.

“Sean and Tosh Van der Sande managed to get in the front group that rode away just before the last passage on the Paddestraat while I could wait in the second group. That was a perfect situation. When everything got back together, I was in a good position. I knew the last turn was a bit less than 300 metres from the line, so I decided to launch my sprint early and it ultimately paid off.”

The race covered 199 kilometres in East-Flanders, consisting of a big 65 kilometre-long lap, and then five smaller laps. These included both small hills and cobbled sectors. Early on in the race David Boucher (Pauwels Sauzen-Vastgoedservice), Joshua Huppertz (Team Lotto – Kern Haus) and Rory Townsend (Bike Channel Canyon) attacked.

They got five minutes clear but a counter attack containing De Bie, Van der Sande and others got across. These were later joined by the bunch, resulting in the large sprint and De Buyst’s victory.

1. be
Lotto Soudal
2. be
Cibel - Cebon
3. be
Wanty - Groupe Gobert