De Kleijn wins in Belgium, Tour 2018 unveiled: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

October 18, 2017

De Kleijn wins Sluitingsprijs Putte-Kapellen; Cobbles, dirt tracks, Alpe d’Huez return: 2018 Tour de France route unveiled; Froome says opening week could tear 2018 Tour to pieces, wins Velo d’Or; Contador on Tour 2018 route: ‘It will be very spectacular’; Bardet gives thumbs up to 2018 Tour route; Porte returns to racing this weekend; Aru signs three-year contract with UAE Team Emirates; Woods extends with Slipstream Sports after career-best Grand Tour result; Video: The riders words – Tour de France 2018; Video: Best images of the 2017 Tour de France; Video: Girona Cycling Festival Nocturn official video 2017

De Kleijn wins Sluitingsprijs Putte-Kapellen

by VeloClub

Dutch rider Arvid De Kleijn won the final race of the Belgian season on Tuesday, taking a big bunch gallop at the end of the Sluitingsprijs Putte-Kapellen. The Baby-Dump Cyclingteam rider beat compatriot Coen Vermeltfoort (Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij) and the Belgians Timothy Dupont (Vérandas Willems-Crelan), Robin Stenuit (Wanty-Group Gobert) and Roy Jans (WB Vernclassic Aqua Protet) to the line in Stabroek.

The win came just over two months after De Kleijn won Antwerpse Havenpijl. “Apparently, Belgian roads are good for me,” he said, according to Sporza. “The run up to the last bend was very chaotic. It went from left to right. I was perfectly positioned on the wheel of Coen Vermeltfoort and I was able to get past at the appropriate time. And so I won. It’s a nice victory I find myself with.”

The event was the last for Jurgen van den Broeck (Team LottoNL-Jumbo). The former Tour de France podium finisher tried to achieve a big result but while he rode hard, he had nothing to show for his efforts.

The race was marked by a 14 man breakaway group, comprising nine Belgians and five Dutch riders. They worked hard but couldn’t open a big-enough gap and were hauled back close to the end.

1. nl
Baby-Dump Cyclingteam
2. nl
Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij
3. be
DUPONT Timothy
Vérandas Willems-Crelan