Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

June 13, 2016

In today’s edition of the Daily News Digest: Chris Froome wins the Critérium du Dauphiné; Cancellara and Sagan triumphant on opening weekend of the Tour de Suisse; Jolien D’hoore takes third consecutive Flanders Diamond Tour; Groenewegen quicker than Griepel in the Rund um Köln; Dehaes beats Boonen to win Ronde van Limburg; Porte blames near-crash for drop from second to fourth overall; Bardet celebrates second overall in race; Contador insists he’s still on course for top form in the Tour de France; Giant-Alpecin leading race to sign Matthews; Gesink crashes out of Tour de Suisse; Two Wanty Groupe Gobert riders withdraw from Dauphiné over cortisol values; Suspected bike thief lassoed by Oregon cowboy; Martyn Ashton shrugs off paralysis to shine on the Fort William downhill course; Tour de Suisse 2016 Prologue: Onboard highlights; Alaphilippe shows off his skillz

Dehaes beats Boonen to win Ronde van Limburg

by VeloClub

Getting the better of Tom Boonen (Etixx-QuickStep) and the rest of the main bunch in a big gallop to the line, Kenny Dehaes took the 1.1-ranked Ronde van Limburg in Tongeren, the Netherlands, on Sunday.

The Wanty-Group Gobert rider was quickest in the final sprint, with a third Belgian, Timonty Dupont (Veranda Willems Cycling Team) completing the podium.

“I’m really happy with this victory. My teammates worked hard the whole day so I could sprint for the win,” he said, speaking about what is victory number five of the season for the squad. “I came from behind. In the last corner I already had a big gap. I like this kind of finish.”

The stage was enlivened by a three man move by Rob Ruijgh (Crelan–Vastgoedservice), Pieter Serry (Etixx-QuickStep) and Wietse Bosmans (BKCP – Corendon). The latter was dropped after 91 kilometres of racing, but the other two persisted until seven kilometres to go.

Dehaes then went early in the uphill sprint and nabbed the win ahead of Boonen and the others.

1. be
Wanty - Groupe Gobert
2. be
Etixx - Quick Step
3. be
DUPONT Timothy
Verandas Willems Cycling Team