Greipel seeking to extend record, Lotto loses rider to rules: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

January 16, 2018

Greipel aiming to add to record Santos Tour Down Under stage haul; Lotto-Soudal loses Lambrecht from Down Under lineup over UCI testing rule; Van Baarle: ‘I joined Team Sky because I can take the next step here’; Andrew Christie-Johnston on UniSA’s TDU plans: Sprints, KOM jersey and more; Dubai Tour confirms 2018 team lineup; Video: Tour Down Under preview with André Greipel; Video: Watch the final lap of the People’s Choice Classic; Video: Peter Sagan lets his hair down in Australia; Video: Christopher Blevins shows skill at the US cyclocross championships; Video: Castelli unveils 2018 Giro d’Italia race leader’s jerseys

Dubai Tour confirms 2018 team lineup

by VeloClub

The organisers of the Dubai Tour have named the teams which will take part in next month’s event. In all 16 teams will compete, including nine WorldTour squads.

These are the Astana Pro Team, Bahrain-Merida, BMC Racing Team, QuickStep Floors, Team Dimension Data, Team Katusha-Alpecin, Team LottoNL-Jumbo, Trek-Segafredo and UAE Team Emirates. Also confirmed are five ProContinental teams, namely Aqua Blue Sport, Cofidis Solutions Credits, Rally Cycling, Team Novo Nordisk and Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia, as well as the Continental squad Mitchelton-BikeExchange and the UAE national team.

The organisers haven’t yet announced a start list, but suggests a solid list of riders who either will ride or who are likely to do so. These are Miguel Ángel López (Astana), Niki Terpstra and Italian Elia Viviani (QuickStep Floors), Mark Cavendish (Team Dimension Data), Marcel Kittel (Team Katusha), Alexander Kristoff and Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates), Adam Blythe and Larry Warbasse (Aqua Blue Sport), Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis), Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida) and Dylan Groenewegen (Team LottoNL-Jumbo).