Your Thursday Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

June 22, 2017

In today’s Daily News Digest: Démare sprints to victory in Halle Ingooigem; Dumoulin wins third Dutch national TT title; Skujins returns from California injury with second in Latvian time trial championship; Martin and Kristoff head Katusha-Alpecin Tour de France lineup; Sagan and Majka’s Bora-hansgrohe teammates confirmed for Tour de France; Team Sunweb confirms riders to compete in Tour de France alongside Michael Matthews; Pro panel suggesting course changes for 2018 Australian national road championships; Tour de Pologne reduces team sizes; Cyrus Monk earns Cannondale-Drapac stagiaire position; Dyball secures stagiaire slot with French pro team; Video: A message from David Lappartient, UCI Presidential candidate

Dyball secures stagiaire slot with French pro team

by VeloClub

The 28-year-old Australian rider Benjamin Dyball (AC Bisontine) has been given a stagiaire slot with the Delko Marseille Provence KTM team, and will ride with the team from August 1 onwards. CyclingTips understands there is a very strong possibility that he will be given a full pro contract with the squad for 2018.

“It is a real honour to race with Delko Marseille Provence KTM. They have a beautiful schedule and they are always fighting in every race,” he said. “Frédéric Rostaing [the team manager] trusts me while some managers are still reluctant to recruit riders of my age. I thank him and I will be there to repay the favour.

“Previously I decided to join the AC Bisontine team of Pascal Orlandi on the advice of Yann Dejan and Scott Bradburn, my coach in Australia, because it is one of the best training teams in France to learn the job.

“[Former pro] Joel Pelier is a great champion who gave me advice on what to do next. Joel is always at my side and he is much more than a coach, meeting him and being able to follow his advice has brought me a lot. That’s why we decided together that my last amateur race will be the Kreiz Breizh elite in Brittany, of which Joël is the sponsor.”

Dyball was a fine third in the Australian time trial championships earlier this year, finishing 1:38 behind Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team) and just 40 seconds off Luke Durbridge (Orica-Scott). He won the Tour of Tasmania in 2016 and was runner-up in this year’s Oceania TT championships.