Your Monday Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

December 12, 2016

In today’s edition of the CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Van Aert and Cant victorious at Essen CX meet; BMC confirms its 2017 roster; Astana reveals its final roster for the 2017 season; Bardet’s Giro plans on hold, will again race the Tour in 2017; Nathan Haas on learning from Edvald Boasson-Hagen; Sean Lake targeting Australian Road Nationals time trial; Parcours revealed for 2017 Tour de Romandie; David Rebellin signs with Continental team; Ag2r-La Mondiale trainee killed while hiking; How wildcard places were awarded in WorldTour races in 2016.

Ekimov in the running for Russian cycling’s top job

by CyclingTips

The Russian Cycling Federation announced on its website that Viacheslav Ekimov is one of two candidates running to replace Igor Makarov as president of the organisation.

Related Articles

Katusha re-signs Belkov, Kochetkov, Losada, Machado and Vicioso – News shorts
Katusha-Alpecin roll out 2017 jersey – Gallery
Ekimov steps down as Katusha general manager
Cyclists among the 1,000 Russian athletes implicated in McLaren report
Makarov, who owns the Katusha team, is stepping down from the post in which he has served since 2010.

Ekimov recently stepped down as general manager of Katusha and was replaced by senior directeur sportif José Azevedo, who like Ekimov, raced with Lance Armstrong at the Discovery Channel team. Ekimov help secure sponsor from Alpecin for 2017 as the Katusha team works to become more international and less dependent on funding from Makarov.

As a professional, Ekimov took stage wins in the Tour de France and Vuelta a Espana, as well as collecting multiple Olympic gold medals on the track. The regional federation for St. Petersburg has nominated him for the presidential position.

Ekimov seems favourite for the role of president, with only Moscow-based business man Alexandre Vinokourov the other candidate. Despite the same name, this is not Alexandre Vinokourov, the manager of the Astana team.

Elections for the post will be held on December 14, 2016, according to the Federation website.

Click through to read more at Cyclingnews.