Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

July 27, 2016

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Matteo Trentin wins Wallonie stage 4; Kump gets first win of season on stage 9 of Tour of Qinghai Lake; IOC: ‘No presumption of innocence for Russian athletes’; Herstory: Female Olympic winners past to present – Part 2; Tinkoff team budget analysis; Wiggins picks Froome to win Rio time trial; Dumoulin back on the bike, hopeful for Rio; Froome to race Vuelta after Olympics; Cavendish on Rio: ‘This is about making every single pedal rev count’; Final Tour de France prize money list; Nairo Quintana time lapse video; Mini-team Sky celebrates

Final Tour de France prize money list

by CyclingTips

Success at the Tour de France can be measured in many ways. For a small wildcard team, a stage win is as big of a deal as a team like Sky winning the overall. A more quantitative way to measure success is by the final prize money allocations from the €2.29 million total prize purse.

Once the beer had been sprayed, the team popped the traditional celebratory champagne. Photo: Cor Vos

Once the beer had been sprayed, the team popped the traditional celebratory champagne. Photo: Cor Vos

Prize money is paid out for the overall classfication, with €500,000 going to the winner. Obviously this launches Team Sky to the top of the list. Second and third also mirror the other overall podium steps with AG2R-La Mondiale’s Romain Bardet in second pocketing €200,000 and Nairo Quintana (Movistar) getting €100,000.

Each jersey category comes with a prize, and prize money is also earned for things like individual stage wins, team classification, days in leader’s jerseys, combativity awards and the like.

Bora-Argon 18 and Direct Energie were the highest wildcard teams, besting four WorldTour teams who earn automatic entry into the Tour.

At the bottom of the table is Cannondale-Drapac, with a paltry €14,100, more than €6,000 less than the next team on the list.

Team Sky – €599,240
Ag2r La Mondiale – €247, 140
Movistar – €229,350
Tinkoff – €189,470
Orica-BikeExchange – €158,810
BMC – €121,170
Lotto-Soudal – €90,860
Dimension Data – €88,590
Etixx-Quick Step – €87,610
Katusha – €68,500
IAM Cycling – €67,230
Lampre-Merida – €61,900
Giant-Alpecin – €51,570
Astana – €39,430
Bora-Argon 18 – €32,730
Direct Energie – €29,290
FDJ – €27,870
Trek-Segafredo – €26,360
Cofidis – €22,760
LottoNL-Jumbo – €21,750
Fortuneo-Vital Concept – €20,120
Cannondale-Drapac – €14,100

Click through to read more at Cycling Weekly.