Oath drops Slipstream deal, Scarponi’s brother wants action: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

November 9, 2017

Oath drops Slipstream sponsorship, team “not in jeopardy”; Scarponi’s brother calls for a cultural change relating to road safety; Froome named International Flandrien of the Year, Van Avermaet and Cant take Belgian awards; British Cycling chairman Browning to stand down; Orica Scott Announces Women’s Roster of 10; Suggestions carbon nanotubes may pose similar health risks to asbestos; Video: Cycling team of cancer survivors and sufferers make seventh tour of Taiwan

Froome named International Flandrien of the Year, Van Avermaet and Cant take Belgian awards

by VeloClub

Chris Froome’s Tour de France/Vuelta a España double saw the Briton secure the International Flandrien of the Year award, succeeding the 2015 and 2016 winner Peter Sagan. The awards were organised by Belgian newspaper Het Nieuwsblad and are an indication of what it believes were the year’s best riders, much as Velo does in France.

Froome previously won the award in 2013. Although he had a relatively quiet early season this year, he won his fourth Tour de France in July and then took his first Vuelta a España in September. Sagan, meanwhile, won this third consecutive world road race title this year, and also took stages in the Tour de France, the Tour de Suisse, the Tour of California, the Tour de Pologne and Tirreno-Adriatico, as well as Kuurne–Brussels–Kuurne and the GP Cycliste de Quebec.

Meanwhile Paris-Roubaix winner Greg Van Avermaet was named Flandrien of the Year, taking the domestic Belgian award for the fifth consecutive year. Aside from that Roubaix title, he also won the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, the E3 Harelbeke, Gent-Wevelgem, the Tour of Luxembourg and the UCI WorldTour title.

Sanne Cant took the women’s equivalent, the Flandrienne of the Year. She took the Belgian national cyclocross title, the world championship and the European cross title this year. Fellow cross rider Mathieu van der Poel won the Flandrien of the Field award, while Julian Vermote was given the new Kilometervreter prize. This recognised the huge distances he covered at the front of the bunch riding for his QuickStep Floors team.