Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

June 24, 2016

In today’s CT Daily News Digest: Civil war averted: UCI, ASO reach agreement over WorldTour reforms; Trans Am: Lael Wilcox wins, smashes women’s record; Alejandro Valverde Q&A: ‘I think nobody doubts my performances anymore’; Glaetzer bests Perkins in match sprint at International Track Series; Lotto-Soudal aims for Tour wins with Greipel; Giant-Alpecin announced Tour roster; Wout van Aert extends with Crelan-Vastgoedservice; No Norwegian WorldTour team for 2017; BMC extends with Quinziato, Wyss; Official Tour de France teaser video; Michael Barry on building bikes with his father

Giant-Alpecin announced Tour roster

by CyclingTips

Team Giant-Alpecin announced its Tour de France roster, centered around the goal of contesting the tougher sprint stages and the mountain stages, with a secondary goal of developing its long-term GC potential.

Tour de France 2015 - stage 19

John Degenkolb will be a rider to watch when coming down to a sprint with a tough finish. Tom Dumoulin will be using the Tour as a final tune-up for the Rio Olympics and will be looking for stage wins.

Last year’s stage 17 winner Simon Geschke will be hunting for another stage win while Warren Barguil is the team’s GC rider.

“Our goals will be to go for a stage victory, as we see several opportunities to achieve that, and also to explore our possibilities in the GC with Warren,” said coach Aike Visbeek. “We have made a long-term plan with him, aiming to develop his general classification performance over the next few years. This will be his second appearance in his home Grand Tour, and we believe a top-15 is again a realistic target for him.

“We have a great blend of experience and youth in our lineup. This year’s Tour de France offers more opportunities in the mountains, with some tough stages, and we took that into consideration when we made our final selection.”

Warren Barguil (FRA)
Roy Curvers (NED)
John Degenkolb (GER)
Tom Dumoulin (NED)
Simon Geschke (GER)
Georg Preidler (AUT)
Laurens ten Dam (NED)
Ramon Sinkeldam (NED)
Albert Timmer (NED)