Your Tuesday Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

April 18, 2017

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Gaudin wins out of two-rider break at Tro Bro Leon; Scarponi nets Astana first win of season at Tour of the Alps; Gilbert outsprints Kwiatkowski to win his fourth Amstel Gold Race; Anna van der Breggen powers to a solo victory at women’s Amstel Gold Race return; Walkout: Illuminate women leave over dispute with manager; Gilbert out for rest of Classics with kidney injury; Rivera retains Women’s WorldTour lead after Amstel Gold Race; Amstel Gold Race defending champ Gasparotto crashes out, but escapes serious injury; Pieter Weening expected to return for Liège; Cookson says he did nothing to be ‘ashamed of or concerned about’ while head of British Cycling; Apeldoorn to host 2018 UCI Track World Championships; 2017 UCI Track World Championships – Day 4 highlights; Video: Paris-Roubaix with Fast Forward Wheels.

Gilbert outsprints Kwiatkowski to win his fourth Amstel Gold Race

by VeloClub

Digging deep to reel in Michal Kwiatkowski after the Team Sky rider gapped him in the final sprint, Philippe Gilbert (QuickStep Floors) overhauled the Pole and captured his fourth Amstel Gold race. The Belgian rider’s victory in the two-man sprint continued his resurgence this spring, adding to his stage win and overall victory in the Three Days of De Panne plus his triumph in the Tour of Flanders.

“It was a hard day, a hard final,” Gilbert said. “We went from the Kruisberg and it was a long move. I think all of us deserved the win today because we really worked together. We did really nice work in the last 40 kilometres.”

It further rewarded QuickStep manager Patrick Lefevere’s decision to sign the Belgian, although he must now wonder if he would have been better to have given Gilbert a place in last Sunday’s Paris-Roubaix lineup. Gilbert had been kept out of the team, with all backing given to Tom Boonen in his attempt to take a record fifth title. In the end that didn’t work out, and Gilbert’s absence meant the team’s options were limited.

Ten seconds after Gilbert’s win, third place went to Michael Albasini (Orica-Scott), who beat Nathan Haas (Team Dimension Data), JJ Rojas (Movistar) and Sergio Luis Henao (Sky) in their four-man sprint.

Ion Izaguirre (Bahrain Merida) was four seconds further back in seventh, while Michael Gogl (Trek-Segafredo) and Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain Merida) were next best, over one minute down.

Click through to read more at CyclingTips.