Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

July 11, 2016

In today’s CT Daily News Digest: Tom Dumoulin wins summit finish in Andorra, Froome defends Tour de France lead; Giro Rosa Round-up: a last-minute stage win for Rabo-Liv and Megan Guarnier wins the Giro Rosa!; Jan Hirt wins Tour of Austria; Nikolay Mihaylov wins Sibiu Cycling Tour; Citing fever, Alberto Contador abandons 2016 Tour de France in Pyrenees; Tactical error? BMC Racing loses out to Froome on Tour’s first big mountain stage; Dan Martin feeling ‘great’ as Tour de France heads for familiar roads; Froome defends action against fan; Commentary: Why Chris Froome was right to punch that spectator; Tinkov, in TV interview: Valverde is jealous of Contador, Europeans don’t know how to do business; New Zealand names final Olympic cycling team; Why Andorra is becoming one of Europe’s most popular pro cycling bases; Tour de France, stage 9 recap; Tour de France, stage 8 on-board highlights; Tour de France, stage 7 on-board highlights; POV footage of Adam Yates crash into 1km inflatable; Orica-BikeExchange Backstage Pass, stage 7; 6-year-old tries Froome’s aero-tuck

Giro Rosa Round-up: a last-minute stage win for Rabo-Liv and Megan Guarnier wins the Giro Rosa!

by Jeanine Laudy

Megan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans) won the overall of the Giro Rosa, with teammate Evie Stevens taking second and Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv) in third. The final stage was won by Rabo-Liv’s Thalita de Jong took the final stage win.

Nine leaders escaped the peloton, among them Riejanne Markus (Liv-Plantur), the third time in a break this race, last year’s stage 6 winner Mayuko Hagiwara (Wiggle-High5) and Maria Giuli Confalonieri (Lensworld-Zannata), who finished on the podium twice in the 2016 Giro Rosa already and was obviously looking for a third podium place when joining the break.

A group of six riders wanted to bridge the gap to the lead group, but ended up in achasse patate and were brought back by the peloton at kilometer 70. Rabo-Liv’s Lucinda Brand, who’s been practicing her bunch sprints this Giro Rosa, and Canyon-SRAM’s Barbara Guarischi, 2015 Giro Rosa stage 1 winner, were represented in that group.

The GPM climb reduced the lead group to six riders, but Rabo-Liv’s Thalita de Jong didn’t wait for the sprint and left them behind on the descent.

After three podium places for Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv), one for teammate Kasia Niewiadoma and a second place for De Jong herself in the prologue, the world cyclocross champion finally delivered Rabo-Liv a last-minute stage win in the 2016 Giro Rosa. A couple of minutes later, Megan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans) crossed the finish line, knowing she did it!

Click through to read more at CyclingTips.