Sagan wins Paris-Roubaix, Pieters wins Healthy Ageing Tour: Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

April 9, 2018

In today’s edition of the CT Daily News Digest: Peter Sagan wins Paris-Roubaix after long-range attack; Michael Goolaerts dies after Paris-Roubaix heart attack; Amy Pieters wins the Healthy Ageing Tour; Primoz Roglic wins the Itzulia Basque Country, Enric Mas claims final stage; James Whelan wins the U23 Tour of Flanders; Australia tops Commonwealth Games track cycling medal tally;  Matteo Trentin suffers spinal fracture at Roubaix; Lawson Craddock crashes into a car; Bill Chaffey takes Commonwealth Games paratriathlon bronze despite handcycle crash; The hands of a Paris-Roubaix cyclist; Sagan the mobile mechanic.

James Whelan wins the U23 Tour of Flanders

by CyclingTips

Twenty-one-year-old Australian James Whelan (Australian national team) has taken a breakout win at the U23 Tour of Flanders, soling to victory in what was the former runner’s first race outside of Australia.

Whelan, who turned to cycling little more than 18 months ago, attacked from a reduced lead group with about 25km to go and managed to get away solo. He built an advantage that peaked at roughly 40 seconds — enough to hold off the 25 chasers by six seconds at the finish.

“I knew that, tactically, [attacking where he did] would work well for us because we still had two other Aussies in that group who could then follow moves and sit on and get the others to chase,” Whelan told Ride. “I guess the nature of under-23 races, it can often not be very organised so if you are going solo off the front, you don’t have a team that will necessarily work to bring it back.”

Germany’s Max Kanter (Development Team Sunweb) won the bunch kick for second ahead of Whelan’s fellow Australian Robert Stannard. In what was a great day for the Australian national team, Cyrus Monk also finished in the top 10 after being part of the day-long breakaway.

Whelan is just the second Australian to win the U23 Tour of Flanders after Alex Edmondson’s 2015 victory. Other winners of the race include Salvatore Puccio, Rick Zabel and Dylan Groenwegen.