Your Friday Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

February 24, 2017

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Cavendish takes first 2017 win at Abu Dhabi Tour; McCabe wins second stage of Tour de Langkawi, Gibbons into lead; Dennis wins Tour de La Provence as Mattia Cattaneo takes final stage; Ariesen wins second stage of Volta ao Alentejo; Cycling Australia poaches Sky’s Simon Jones to head high performance; Van Avermaet heads into Spring Classics with confidence of an Olympic champion; Owain Doull claims disc rotor sliced his shoe in sprint crash on Abu Dhabi stage; Women’s Amstel Gold Race will use traditional Cauberg finish; Belgians Boonen, Vanmarcke ready to start Classics season at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne; Baloise Belgium Tour announces 2017 route; Laura Kenny awarded 2016 FT Bidlake Memorial Prize; Trial date set for Armstrong federal whistleblower case; Highlights: Abu Dhabi Tour, stage 1; Highlights: Volta ao Alentejo, stage 1.

Laura Kenny awarded 2016 FT Bidlake Memorial Prize

by CyclingTips

Laura Kenny was awarded the 2016 FT Bidlake Memorial Prize in recognition of her achievements as Britain’s most successful Olympic female competitor in any sport.

Kenny won gold medals in the team pursuit and omnium at the Olympic Games in Rio, a repeat of her achievements in London four years earlier. The victories made her Britain’s most successful Olympic female competitor. She also won the omnium and scratch race at the 2016 UCI Track World Championships.

“I’m thrilled to have been chosen to receive the Bidlake Memorial Prize,” said Kenny. “To have my name added to the long list of so many respected and successful cyclists that have received the prize over the years is a real honour.”

The Bidlake Memorial Prize is one of the oldest and most prestigious awards in British cycle sport; past winners include Sir Bradley Wiggins, Mark Cavendish and Tom Simpson.

It was devised in memory of Frederick Thomas Bidlake, the man generally considered to be the father of time-trialling. It is awarded annually to the most outstanding performance or contribution to the betterment of cycling in all spheres.