Your Saturday Daily News Digest

by Neal Rogers

January 7, 2017

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Jack Bauer crowned New Zealand national time trial champion; Froome rejected TUE during 2015 Tour de France on ‘moral grounds’; Live stream: Hyde vs Powers at US National Cyclocross Championships; Study into traumatic injuries among pro and amateur racers has drawn nearly 400 participants; Fisher Price to launch high-tech exercise bike for toddlers; Video: Peter Sagan’s best moments of 2016.

Live stream: Hyde vs Powers at US National Cyclocross Championships

by Neal Rogers

The 2017 USA Cycling National Cyclocross Championships will come to a close on Sunday when elite men and women battle for the coveted stars-and-stripes jersey. Events have been under way all week in Hartford, Connecticut, where amateur and collegiate racers have been slipping and sliding their way through the technical course since Tuesday.

In the elite men’s race, it’s almost certain that four-time national champion Jeremy Powers (Aspire Racing) and his former protege, Stephen Hyde (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld.com) will battle for the victory. Last year, they finished first and second, and it was clear that for Hyde, who is four years younger, winning a national title was simply a matter of time.

Based on how the 2016-17 cyclocross season has unfolded, it appears that time may be upon us.

On Sunday, racing action will start at 9 a.m. EST (3 p.m. CET or 12 a.m. AEST on January 9) with the Junior Men. The U23 women will go off at 10 a.m., followed by the U23 men at 11:30 a.m. The afternoon is reserved for the elite categories with the women’s race starting at 1:15 p.m. and the men’s race starting at 3 p.m. All of Sunday’s races will be live streamed, here.

If you’re unable to watch the livestream, check out the official Twitter account @USACycling or use the hashtag #cxnats.

BACK TO TOP