Vuelta stage 9, Plouay, Tour de l’Avenir: Your CT Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

August 28, 2017

In today’s edition of the CT Daily News Digest: Chris Froome extends Vuelta lead with stage 9 victory; Lizzie Deignan victorious in GP de Plouay; Egan Bernal takes comfortable victory at the Tour de l’Avenir; Elia Viviani sprints to Bretagne Classic victory; Joe Cooper and Macey Stewart win the Tour of the King Valley; An international battle at the Melbourne Grand Prix of Cyclocross; Cannondale-Drapac turns to crowdfunding after sponsor troubles; Tour de l’Avenir winner Egan Bernal signs with Team Sky; Warren Barguil sent home from the Vuelta; Five Brisbane cyclists injured after being struck by a car; Party tricks at the Vuelta; 1,000 rockets attached to a bike.

Lizzie Deignan victorious in GP de Plouay

by Jeanine Laudy

Lizzie Deignan (Boels-Dolmans) has taken out the 2017 GP de Plouay, repeating her win from two years earlier. Deignan took the victory in a two-up sprint ahead of Pauline Ferrand-Prevot (Canyon-SRAM), the latter claiming her best result of the road season so far. Sarah Roy (Orica-Scott) completed the podium by winning the bunch sprint behind.

The first attacks came 50 kilometres into the race, but Boels-Dolmans, WM3 Pro Cycling and Team Sunweb controlled the bunch and stopped anyone dangerous from getting off the front. The first attack to stick was by Hannah Barnes (Canyon-SRAM), who was later joined by Janneke Ensing (Alé Cipollini). Just before the 100km mark, though, the duo was caught. From this moment it was aggressive racing until the finish line.

Attacks flew off the front and sometimes the riders managed to take a couple of seconds. When Karol-Ann Canuel (Boels-Dolmans) and Tiffany Cromwell (Canyon-SRAM) attacked and a number of people couldn’t close the gap, it started to look like the race-winning move. However, it was the Women’s WorldTour’s best young rider, Cecilie Utturip Ludwig (Cervélo-Bigla), who eventually closed the gap single-handedly.

On the final climb up the Ty Marrec, Deignan and Ferrand-Prevot snuck off the front and this proved to be the decisive move. They were never seen again and it was the 2015 road world champion who outsprinted the previous year’s winner.

“I didn’t feel fantastic today, and I take confidence from pulling off the win when I wasn’t feeling my best,” Deignan said. “The team worked so well, but we almost always do. This is such a brilliant group to be a part of, and I’m honoured that they trusted me to finish off their work.”

1. gb
DEIGNAN Elizabeth
Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team
2. fr
Canyon SRAM Racing
3. au
ROY Sarah
Orica - Scott

Follow the link to read more at the Boels-Dolmans website.