Your Thursday Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

June 1, 2017

Gaudin beats Van Avermaet to take prologue at Skoda Tour of Luxembourg; Dumoulin’s Giro achievement celebrated in Maastricht; Porte chasing Critérium du Dauphiné victory; Sagan, Majka head Bora-hansgrohe long list for Tour de France; Cavendish remains uncertain for Tour de France; Longo Borghini to lead Wiggle High5 squad in OVO Energy Women’s Tour; Record Giro d’Italia viewing figures for Eurosport; American cycling press officer Sean Weide dead at age 49; Drunk driver given maximum sentence of 12 years for killing cyclist; Video: Hammer Series – The format explained; Video: Critérium du Dauphiné 2017 Essential Guide

Longo Borghini to lead Wiggle High5 squad in OVO Energy Women’s Tour

by VeloClub

Announcing the lineup in advance of next week’s OVO Energy Women’s Tour, the Wiggle High5 team has confirmed that the rider who finished third overall in 2016, Elisa Longo Borghini, will spearhead the squad. “I’m really looking forward to the Women’s Tour because it looks like a great race,” she said. “It looks very hard as well, and also spectacular with the finish in London. I’m very curious to see how it will be, and how the race will be held.”

She won the women’s Strade Bianche this year and led the WorldTour for several weeks. She said she has fully recovered from illness. “I feel fine now, and hopefully I can be in good shape for the Women’s Tour. I will try to work very well with my team, and I’m pretty sure we can achieve good results.”

Longo Borghini will be joined by Jolien d’Hoore, who won a stage and was a runner-up overall in the 2015 OVO Energy Women’s Tour, as well as double world road race champion Giorgia Bronzini and Emilia Fahlin. The latter took the combativity award in last year’s event. Audrey Cordon-Ragot and Claudia Lichtenberg complete the team.

The race begins next Wednesday with an opening leg between Daventry and Kettering. It runs until Sunday June 11.

The lineup includes past winners Lizzie Deignan (Boels Dolmans), Lisa Brennauer (Canyon//SRAM) and Marianne Vos (WM3 Pro Cycling), as well as Dani King (Cylance Pro Cycling), Lucinda Brand (Team Sunweb) and Katie Archibald (Team WNT).