Vargarda road race

Your Monday Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

August 14, 2017

In today’s edition of the CT Daily News Digest: Tom Dumoulin wins the BinckBank Tour; Lotta Lepistö and Boels-Dolmans take wins on Vårgårda weekend; Dylan Teuns secures overall victory at the Arctic Race of Norway; Manuel Senni wins the Colorado Classic, Mihkel Raim claims the final stage; Bennett doubles up at the Czech Cycling Tour, Cerny scoops overall; Thibaut Pinot wins the Tour de l’Ain; Philippe Gilbert extends his contract with QuickStep Floors; Lars Boom fined for BinckBank Tour celebration; Jakob Fuglsang’s bad luck continues with broken collarbone; Georgia Baker back to training soon after heart surgery; Cyclist dies following a collision south-east of Melbourne; How to get pedestrians out of the bike lane.

Vargarda road race

Lotta Lepistö and Boels-Dolmans take wins on Vårgårda weekend

by Jeanine Laudy

Boels-Dolmans and Lotta Lepistö (Cervélo-Bigla) were the big winners from a weekend of Womens WorldTour racing in Vårgårda, Sweden with the former taking out the teams time trial and the latter winning the road race.

The Vårgårda TTT is the only standalone event of its kind on the women’s calendar and being held only weeks before the world team time trial championships, it’s considered an important dress rehearsal. Boels-Dolmans once again passed the team test with flying colours, completing the 43km course in 52:29 (49km/h average). Cervelo-Bigla was second, 13 seconds in arrears, while Canyon-SRAM completed the podium another 38 seconds down.

In Sunday’s road race, a 140km effort with four gravel sectors, a reduced bunch sprint decided the race for the first time since 2011. A group of 30 reached the finish together once all the day’s attacks had been neutralised, and it was Finnish champion Lotta Lepistö that won the bunch kick ahead of Marianne Vos (WM3 Energie) and Leah Kirchmann (Sunweb).

“In the last 10 kilometres, I focussed on keeping everything together until the finish to repay the team for their work,” Lepistö said. “Marianne [Vos] started the sprint and I was on her wheel and forced my way through. I was second here last year so I wanted to make sure I did better. Last year I was very tired from being in the breakaway when we came into the sprint. Today I had good positioning and timed it well. The team is in amazing form and everyone was incredible.”

1. fi
Cervélo-Bigla Pro Cycling
2. nl
VOS Marianne
WM3 Energie
3. ca
Team Sunweb
4. lu
MAJERUS Christine
Boels - Dolmans Cycling Team
5. nl
Team Sunweb
6. au
Alé Cipollini
7. it
Alé Cipollini
8. se
Wiggle High5
9. it
Lensworld - Kuota
10. nl
WILD Kirsten
Cylance Pro Cycling

Follow the links to read more at Ella CyclingTips about the Vargada TTT and road race.