Ella Picks: Rider designs new Bira poster and it looks rad, mountain biking Kilimanjaro, Afghanistan’s women’s cycling team nominated for Nobel Peace Prize and more

by Anne-Marije Rook

February 23, 2016

Every week we scan the internet for the interesting stories of women’s cycling that deliver unique insight, inspire or simply make us laugh and round them all up in a weekly news digest.

Louisa Lobigs announced as Amy Gillett Cycling Scholarship recipient

by VeloClub

Canberra’s Louisa Lobigs has been selected as the recipient of the 11th Amy Gillett Cycling Scholarship.

The 25-year-old Holden Women’s Cycling Team member is the current ACT individual time trial champion and in 2015 placed sixth at the Australian National Championships in the same discipline.

The scholarship provides Lobigs with the opportunity to live, train and compete in Europe, racing for the High5 Australian Women’s Road Development Team.

The Amy Gillett Cycling Scholarship is awarded annually on fulfilment criteria that includes cycling achievements and future potential, work and study experience, aspirations, personal and team qualities, and other sporting background.

In choosing Lobigs as the scholarship recipient, the selection panel were unanimous because of her sporting potential, her alignment to the values of the Amy Gillett Foundation and her commitment to a career outside sport, which currently sees her completing a PhD at the University of Western Australia. Her PhD focused on biomarker and blood volume variations in relation to the anti-doping tool, the Athlete’s Biological Passport.

“It’s a real honour, a lot of amazing athletes have had it in the past and it’s inspiring to be able to represent Amy and the work of the Amy Gillett Foundation,” Lobigs said in a press release. “I love training and that takes up a good part of my day, but I find the Uni work gives me the balance I need to stay motivated in my training and at Uni.”

Five of the past Amy Gillett Cycling Scholarship recipients are currently active as professional cyclists including Kimberley Wells, Lizzie Williams,  Jo Hogan, Rachel Neylan and Carlee Taylor.