Sunweb’s Worlds TTTs, Pedersen wins Denmark, Sagan ill: CT Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

September 18, 2017

In today’s edition of the CT Daily News Digest: Sunweb wins women’s team time trial world title; Sunweb wins men’s team time trial world title; Mads Pedersen secures overall victory at the Tour of Denmark; Liam Bertazzo wins the Tour of China I, Joe Cooper second; Peter Sagan falls ill in world championships lead-up; Cookson, Lappartient continue campaigning ahead of UCI presidential election; Greg Henderson joins USA Cycling as endurance performance director; Manuel Quinziato on retirement and what comes next; Cobblestones to feature in 2018 Tour de France stage?

Mads Pedersen secures overall victory at the Tour of Denmark

by CyclingTips

Danish road champion Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) has won his home tour, the Tour of Denmark, after winning stage 3 of the five-stage race then riding strongly in the remaining two days.

Pedersen took the lead with his solo victory on stage 3 before finishing fourth in the stage 4 time trial and coming second in the final-stage bunch sprint. That final stage saw a seven-rider group get up the road, but they were eventually reeled back in ahead of a bunch sprint won by Max Walscheid (Sunweb).

“I have to say the team did an amazing job today to keep it all together,” Pedersen said. “They controlled the race perfectly and did exactly as we planned, and I think in the end it may have taken a little bit the energy from [second-placed Michael] Valgren to attack because maybe he saw how strong the team was.”

The victory is Pedersen’s second stage race victory of the year after he won the overall at the Tour du Poitou Charentes in August. It’s the more recent win that holds greater significance.

“For sure this race means more,” Pedersen said. “It’s my home country and to ride the race in Denmark with the National Championship jersey on, and all the people, and how they cheer for you … Yeah, this win is really special.”

Final Classification: > - Stage Result

Saturday 16th September 2017

1. dk
Trek - Segafredo
2. dk
Astana Pro Team
3. dk
Team Giant - Castelli