Your Thursday Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

June 22, 2017

In today’s Daily News Digest: Démare sprints to victory in Halle Ingooigem; Dumoulin wins third Dutch national TT title; Skujins returns from California injury with second in Latvian time trial championship; Martin and Kristoff head Katusha-Alpecin Tour de France lineup; Sagan and Majka’s Bora-hansgrohe teammates confirmed for Tour de France; Team Sunweb confirms riders to compete in Tour de France alongside Michael Matthews; Pro panel suggesting course changes for 2018 Australian national road championships; Tour de Pologne reduces team sizes; Cyrus Monk earns Cannondale-Drapac stagiaire position; Dyball secures stagiaire slot with French pro team; Video: A message from David Lappartient, UCI Presidential candidate

Martin and Kristoff head Katusha-Alpecin Tour de France lineup

by VeloClub

Past stage winners Tony Martin and Alexander Kristoff will spearhead the Katusha-Alpecin selection for this year’s Tour de France, as confirmed by the team on Wednesday.

Martin is the current world time trial champion and also took gold on three occasions in the past. He is a five-time Tour stage winner, and also took the overall classification in races such as the Eneco Tour, Paris-Nice and the Tour of Belgium. He will be psyched for the opening time trial in the Tour, not least because it is on home soil in Germany.

Kristoff took two Tour stage wins in 2014 and is a past winner of events like Milan-San Remo, the Tour of Flanders and Scheldeprijs.

Also confirmed for the team are the Germans Rick Zabel and Nils Politt, Austria’s Marco Haller, Tiago Machado of Portugal, Reto Hollenstein (Switzerland), Robert Kiserlovski (Croatia) and Portugal’s Tiago Machado.