Your Tuesday Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

April 4, 2017

Photography by Kristof Ramon

In today’s edition of the Daily News Digest: Matthews wins Stage 1 of Vuelta al Pais Vasco; D’Hoore takes Grand Prix de Dottignies; Uncertainty over Vanmarcke’s Roubaix participation; Phinney could be back for Paris-Roubaix; No major issues for Sagan after Flanders crash, video clarifies how fall happened; Cancellara calls Sagan position on Kwaremont a mistake; Ferrari handed 18-month prison sentence, will appeal; Greipel sets sights on Scheldeprijs; Tour of the Battenkill adds UCI event for 2017; No uphill Mogollon finish for Tour of the Gila this year; Title sponsor of Wellens-managed Steylaerts-Verona team extends for two years; 2017 Women’s Ronde van Vlaanderen Highlights; 2017 UCI Women’s WorldTour: Focus on Chantal Blaak

Matthews wins Stage 1 of Vuelta al Pais Vasco

by VeloClub

Michael Matthews clocked up his first victory of the season – plus his first with Team Sunweb – when he was quickest in the sprint which decided the opening stage of the Vuelta al Pais Vasco.

Matthews beat fellow Australians Jay McCarthy (Bora-hansgrohe) and Simon Gerrans (Orica-Scott) to the line in Eguesibar-Sarriguren, proving quickest in the final gallop.

“Today was a perfect day and the team worked all day out the front on their own,” Matthews said. “The guys put me into the perfect position to win the stage and I can’t thank them enough for their help and support today. I am really happy I could take the win after all of their amazing work and dedication.”

The inevitable long-distance move was clear until the final half hour, after which QuickStep Floors’ Julian Alaphilippe jumped clear close to four kilometres to go. However very soon afterwards he suffered a puncture, ending his chances.

Volta a Catalunya winner Alejandro Valverde then tried to break the bunch, attacking with a number of others, but they were hauled back. This enabled Matthews to chase and capture his first win of 2017.

Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) came down inside the final kilometre but wasn’t badly hurt. He was given the same time as the peloton, as per UCI rules.

Stage 1: Pamplona > Eguesibar-Sarriguren - Stage Result

Monday 3rd April 2017

1. au
Team Sunweb
2. au
Bora - Hansgrohe
3. au