Your Tuesday Daily News Digest

by Neal Rogers

July 4, 2017

In today’s Daily News Digest: Sagan pulls foot from pedal in sprint, still wins Stage 3 of Tour de France; Jolien D’hoore takes Stage 4 sprint at Giro Rosa; Viviani wins Stage 1 at Tour of Austria as Vanmarcke moves into race lead; McCabe, Allar take US national criterium championship titles; Van Avermaet and Porte aggressive, but BMC Racing empty handed after Stage 3; Esteban Chaves hit by tragic news from Colombia; Dan Martin pleased with Stage 3 podium finish, GC situation at Tour de France; Peter Sagan becomes C40 Goodwill Ambassador for Biking Cities; Izagirre recovering in Germany after surgery on lumbar vertebrae; Video: GoPro’s Tour de France Stage 3 highlights.

McCabe, Allar take US national criterium championship titles

by CyclingTips

Travis McCabe (UnitedHealthcare) and Erica Allar (Rally Cycling) were crowned 2017 U.S. national criterium champions Sunday in Louisville, Kentucky. It was McCabe’s first professional criterium title, to go with an amateur title he won in 2013; it was Allar’s first elite criterium title, and the third national title she’s earned in 2017 after taking two collegiate national road titles won in April riding for Piedmont College

Allar broke away early in the race with Lauren Stephens (TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank), building a 40-second lead over the 55-rider field and overcoming a race delay caused by a late crash. Allar outfoxed Stephens — who took silver in the national TT championship last weekend — for the win. Irena Ossola SAS-MACOGEP) attacked from the field with six laps to go, and closed much of the gap to the leaders, finishing six seconds back for third.

“I’m really just so excited,” Allar said. “Stephens is such a strong rider and great competitor that she was certainly one of the marked riders. I just happened to be there when she decided to go. Lucky for us, we had full teams. My Rally team rode really well. It’s my first elite criterium national championship, and it’s something I’ve worked hard to get.”

McCabe took his stars and stripes jersey in a sprint finish ahead of Eric Young (Rally Cycling) and Ty Magner (Holowesko-Citadel). Most of the 65-minute men’s race was dominated by Brandon McNulty (Rally Cycling) and Ben Wolfe (Jelly Belly-Maxxis), who created a sizeable gap for more than 20 laps. McNulty tried a solo attack with four laps to go, but was chased down by McCabe and 13 other riders from the peloton on the final lap.

“The last lap was all-out racing,” McCabe said. “It was full gas all the way up the back climb, and I opened up the sprint with 200 meters to go, out of the corner, and held it to the line. I put my head down, and didn’t know until about 50 meters to go, and then I had a good feeling that I was going to take it. It felt great.”

Criterium National Championships | Women
1. Erica Allar (Rally Cycling)
2. Lauren Stephens (TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank)
3. Irena Ossola (SAS-MACOGEP)
4. Skyler Schneider (ISCorp Powered by Progress)
5. Kendall Ryan (TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank)
6. Emma White (Rally Cycling)
7. Tina Pic (Papa John’s)
8. Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom)
9. Hannah Shell (Pastaria)
10. Heather Fischer (TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank)

Criterium National Championships | Men
1. Travis McCabe (UnitedHealthcare)
2. Eric Young (Rally Cycling)
3. Tyler Magner (Holowesko | Citadel)
4. Brad Huff (Rally Cycling)
5. Miguel Bryon (Holowesko | Citadel)
6. Eric Marcotte (Cylance)
7. Curtis White (Rally Cycling)
8. Jacob Rathe (Jelly Belly)
9. Colin Joyce (Rally Cycling)
10. Luke Keough (UnitedHealthcare)