Your Monday Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

August 7, 2017

In today’s edition of the CT Daily News Digest: Alexander Kristoff and Marianne Vos crowned European road champions; Mikel Landa takes out the Vuelta a Burgos; Peta Mullens, Chris Jongewaard take Australian Cyclocross titles; James Hayden wins the fifth Transcontinental Race; Cameron Meyer rejoins Orica-Scott in three-year deal; Andrey Amador injured in training crash; Lucas Hamilton targeting Tour de l’Avenir success; Ruth Corset on retirement and her career of two halves; Worst race ever? CCB duo survives rough Tour of Qinghai Lake; Former British champion Tim Harris and his Belgian Seat of Learning.

Mikel Landa takes out the Vuelta a Burgos

by CyclingTips

Mikel Landa (Sky) has confirmed his sensational mid-year form, winning the Vuelta a Burgos just a few weeks after riding to fourth in the Tour de France.

Landa led the Spanish stage race from start to finish after winning on the uphill finishes to stage 1 and stage 3. Landa and his Sky team were able to defend their lead through the final two days of racing, including stage 4, which was won by Carlos Barbero (Movistar) in a bunch sprint, and stage 5 which ended with a long climb to Lagunas de Neila.

Landa attacked with roughly 2km to go in the final stage, with only Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana) and Enric Mas (QuickStep Floors) able to follow. Lopez jumped away to win the stage, Mas was second, while Landa was able to ensure overall victory by 40 seconds.

“It was really exciting,” said Sky sports director Dario Cioni. “We were always in the game and to come away from the week with two stage wins, a second, a third, plus the fact the team was always in control of the situation … It couldn’t have gone much better.

“We saw in the Tour that Mikel was in great shape and again at San Sebastian, so this was our chance to give something back to him for all the work he has done. All of the team was really motivated to support him for this race.”

Final Classification: > - Stage Result

Saturday 5th August 2017

1. es
Team Sky
2. es
Quick-Step Floors
3. es
Quick-Step Floors