Armstrong won’t travel to Flanders, Martinez attacked by driver: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

March 28, 2018

Armstrong withdraws from Tour of Flanders attendance, cites family matter as reason; EF Education First rider Martínez attacked by a car driver, hospitalized; Keukeleire out of Lotto-Soudal squad for Spring Classics; QuickStep Floors signs European Under 23 TT champion Asgreen; Gesink’s knee problems traced back to change in position on bike; More teams announced for Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah; Video: Behind the scenes with QuickStep Floors at Gent-Wevelgem

More teams announced for Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah

by CyclingTips

As the build-up continues towards August’s Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah, nine teams have been officially confirmed for the event. These include four WorldTour teams previously announced, a fifth squad from the same level, three Pro Continental outfits and a Continental team.

In an announcement on Tuesday, the organisers said that Team LottoNL-Jumbo will join American squads BMC Racing Team, Team EF Education First-Drapac and Trek-Segafredo, plus the Australian Mitchelton-Scott outfit as the WorldTour entrants. Also travelling for the race are Israel Cycling Academy, Italian squads Bardiani CSF and Nippo-Vini Fantini, plus the Continental-level Silber Pro Cycling from Canada.

“We have an impressive line-up of international teams for the 2018 Tour of Utah at this early date. It is a tribute to the great support provided by host communities, Tour partners and staff that professional cycling teams around the world now ask to be invited to compete,” said John Kimball, managing director of the race. “The Tour of Utah has a solid reputation worldwide as one of the premier sporting events on the professional cycling calendar.”

The 2.HC-ranked event Tour of Utah will start on Aug. 6 in St. George for the first time with a prologue, and conclude seven days later in Park City. Additional host venues are Cedar City, Payson City, Antelope Island State Park, Layton City, Salt Lake City, Canyons Village, and Snowbird Resort.

Further teams and each squad’s rider selections will be announced between now and late July.