Login to VeloClub|Not a member?   Sign up now.

Martin blasts UCI over Froome, Specialized announces recall: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

December 15, 2017

Tony Martin blasts UCI over Froome affair: ‘A double standard’; Team LottoNL-Jumbo expels three riders from training camp; Movistar confirms Quintana. Valverde and Landa will ride Tour de France; Armstrong invited to attend Tour of Flanders as guest and keynote speaker; Top teams announced for 2018 Cadel’s Race; Trek-Segafredo presents 2018 racing and training kits; New Bahrain-Merida jersey presented; Aqua Blue Sport awarded Pro Continental licence; Smaller roster, new kit for Team Novo Nordisk; Fixed-gear crit racer wins Zwift Academy, Canyon-SRAM pro contract; Navardauskas elaborates on heart issues and his return; Specialized announces recall for 2018 Allez, Allez Sport, and Allez Elite; Wahoo Fitness partners with Bora-hansgrohe for 2018; Video: Soudal is hiring, pro riders fail trial

Movistar confirms Quintana, Valverde and Landa will ride Tour de France

by Shane Stokes

Speaking at its official launch on Thursday in Madrid, the Movistar team has said that it will sent all three of its top riders to next year’s Tour de France. Past runner-up Nairo Quintana, multiple stage winner Alejandro Valverde and 2017 fourth-place finisher Mikel Landa will spearhead the team, giving it strong options but also setting things up for possible infighting.

The team’s general manager Eusebio Unzue said his riders have “the ideal profile to believe in winning the Tour, which is one of the few races we have still to win.”

Landa stated that if he was in a position to win, he wouldn’t wait for Quintana. He was faulted during the 2017 Tour de France for apparently not riding on occasions for the designated team leader Chris Froome. While the team is one of the strongest in cycling, and would present a formidable Tour lineup, other examples from the past such as T-Mobile and La Vie Claire have shown the dangers of a lack of cooperation in a team.

The team also presented its new women’s squad, as well as a new-look jersey for the 2018 season.

Rosters for 2018:

Men: Andrey Amador (CRC), Winner Anacona (COL), Jorge Arcas, Carlos Barbero, Daniele Bennati (ITA), Carlos Betancur (COL), Nuno Bico (POR), Richard Carapaz (ECU), Héctor Carretero, Jaime Castrillo, Víctor de la Parte, Imanol Erviti, Rubén Fernández, Mikel Landa, Nelson Oliveira (POR), Antonio Pedrero, Dayer Quintana (COL), Nairo Quintana (COL), José Joaquín Rojas, Jaime Rosón, Eduardo Sepúlveda (ARG), Marc Soler, Jasha Süttlerlin (GER), Rafa Valls, Alejandro Valverde. Sports directors: José Luis Arrieta, Chente García Acosta, José Luis Jaimerena, Pablo Lastras.

Women: Aude Biannic (FRA), Mavi García, Alicia González, Malgorzata Jasinska (POL), Lorena Llamas, Eider Merino, Rachel Neylan (AUS), Lourdes Oyarbide, Gloria Rodríguez, Alba Teruel. Sports director: Jorge Sanz.