Van Vleuten, Pidcock win world titles, no crisis for Team Wiggins: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

September 20, 2017

Pidcock wins junior world championship time trial; Annemiek van Vleuten wins women’s world individual time trial title; McQuaid rejects claims that Team Wiggins is in financial difficulties; Two-hour operation for Dolan after courageous world championship finish; Haga and Curvers extend with Team Sunweb; Hammer to retire from pro cycling and focus on coaching; UCI cuts team sizes for Grand Tours and other races; UHC announces preliminary roster, Thomas and Banks are new additions; New Australian criterium series announced; Beaumont shatters around the world cycling record; Volunteers wanted for Melbourne research study into salt loss in sweat; Video: world road race championships, under 23 men’s time trial; Video: world road race championships, junior women’s time trial; Video: It’s Just Like Riding a Bike; Video: Buy the Beastie.

New Australian criterium series announced

by VeloClub

Shimano Australia has announced a new Australian criterium series, beginning at the Launceston Cycling Festival in Tasmania on November 12th. The Shimano Sprint Series will continue with the new Criterium White Bay (Sydney, NSW) on November 18th, and conclude in Melbourne on December 17 with the Shimano Super Crit there.

“The goal of this series is to bring the best professional and elite cyclists in Australia together to showcase criterium racing in great locations for cycling fans and the general public,” it said in a press statement. “The series will also provide an exciting opportunity for NRS and other cycling sponsors to leverage their investment in cycling and for teams and riders to generate content and media interest across three states.”

The component manufacturer said that the series will offer equal prize money for men and women, whom they refer to as the King and Queen of the Shimano Sprint Series. Points will be given to the first ten finishers in each round, and also for intermediate sprints and finishing each race. The riders with the most points will be awarded $3,000 each and the Shimano Sprint Series crown.

“We are really excited about the new Shimano Sprint Series,” said Andrew-Christie Johnson of IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness p/b Cervelo. “It’s a great initiative by Shimano to pull this series together. We think it will be well-supported by spectators and riders alike. This is a great opportunity for IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness p/b Cervelo to show what we can do.”

Marty Tobin of Holden Women’s Racing was equally upbeat. “It’s great to have a criterium series for the top men and women’s teams that’s a national series, not just in one state. Holden Women’s Racing can’t wait to be on the start line.”