Your Saturday Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

March 11, 2017

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Simon Yates solos to Paris-Nice stage win; Sagan wins uphill field sprint at Tirreno-Adriatico; Team Sky and the mystery of the exploding wheels at Tirreno-Adriatico; Report into British Cycling to confirm a ‘culture of fear’; Brailsford has no intention of quitting Team Sky; Longo Borghini alters schedule to race Ronde van Drenthe; Bouhanni to race Nokere Koerse; New stage race set for South Africa in early 2018; USA Cycling moves cyclocross nationals back to December date for 2018; WADA could add caffeine to prohibited list; 2017 Paris-Nice: Stage 6 highlights; One-Legged BMXer Julián Molina shreds harder than you.

New stage race set for South Africa in early 2018

by CyclingTips

Cycling South Africa announced an agreement with the British event company SweetSpot Group to create a six-stage elite race to be held in the first quarter of 2018.

Riders like Daryl Impey could finally have an opportunity to race on home soil.

“This is a significant milestone for Cycling South Africa as it fills a huge void on our racing calendar,” said William Newman, President of Cycling South Africa. “Having this event will allow our very own team Dimension Data for Qhubeka and our other international riders to participate on home soil, allowing the South African public to really see how good they are.

“The event will also allow our local riders the opportunity to participate against the best riders in the world. This will further encourage and motivate the youth to take up cycling as a sport which is one of the key objectives of Cycling South Africa – to grow our sport and create opportunities for all.”

“An official cycle tour in South Africa is long overdue,” said Doug Ryder, team principal of Dimension Data. “SweetSpot is known as an organisation that always goes out of its way to look after the teams and deliver in terms of quality and professionalism.”

SweetSpot Group are behind the revival of the Tour of Britain and organised the 2007 London Grand Départ of the Tour de France.