Calls to cancel Giro’s Israel start, MIPS in dispute with POC: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

November 23, 2017

Human rights groups and others call on Giro d’Italia to abandon Israel start; Santos Women’s Tour Down Under steps up a level for 2018; Rally completes 2018 women’s roster; Team TIBCO Announces Full Roster; No ‘Warrny’ in 2018 as Cycling Australia segments National Road Series; Pinarello issues apology for controversial advertisement; MIPS in patent dispute with POC over helmet safety technology; Video: Team Dimension Data – An inspiration for others; Video: Damien O’Tuama from speaks about cyclists being killed by cars in Ireland

Rally completes 2018 women’s roster

by Aliya Traficante, Ella Intern

Erica Allar sporting the stars and stripes at the Cascade Cycling Classic.

Announced on Tuesday, Rally cycling finalised their 2018 roster retaining their core group of riders that raced to 48 wins and 98 podiums this year, along with four new strong additions: Gillian Ellsay, Heidi Franz, Abby Mickey and Summer Moak .

A star-studded team complete with Olympians and National Champions, Rally’s women’s squad were a force to be reckoned with on the American race scene. “2017 was about developing the strong group we knew we had,” said DS Zach Bell. “We found a good cultural balance within the team. Riders were having fun and pushing each other.

“It was important to keep the team together as much as possible, because we developed great chemistry, and I think we still have a lot of performance potential to see from them. The more they have been through, the more each rider can stretch outside her comfort zone and find a new level.”

“There seem to be three key relationships for a professional team’s success: how the riders interact with each other, how the staff interacts with each other, and how the staff and riders interact,” added Olympic silver medallist and World Champion on the track, Kelly Catlin. “Rally Cycling has nailed this synergy. The riders and staff have that rare combination of huge work ethic and minimal ego that make for successful teamwork in every capacity. With that comes victories both on and off the bike.”

The full roster comprises Erica Allar, Sara Bergen, Allison Beveridge, Kelly Catlin, Gillian Ellsay, Heidi Franz, Megan Heath, Kirsti Lay, Katherine Maine, Abigail Mickey, Summer Moak, Sara Poidevin and Emma White