Your Monday Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

February 27, 2017

In today’s edition of the CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Caleb Ewan wins Abu Dhabi Tour’s final stage as Rui Costa secures the overall; Greg van Avermaet wins men’s Omloop Het Nieuwsblad; Lucinda Brand solos to victory in women’s Omloop Het Nieuwsblad; Peter Sagan bounces back to win Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne; Ryan Gibbons bolsters Tour de Langkawi lead with stage 5 win; Jolien d’Hoore claims Omloop van het Hageland victory; Peter Sagan’s bizarre post-Het Nieuwsblad interview; On-board highlights from stage 2 of the Abu Dhabi Tour.

Ryan Gibbons bolsters Tour de Langkawi lead with stage 5 win

by CyclingTips

It was on stage 2 of the Tour de Langkawi that South Africa’s Ryan Gibbons (Dimension Data) took the overall lead. On yesterday’s fifth stage of the eight-stage Malaysian race, the 22-year-old extended his lead with victory in the bunch sprint.

It’s been an impressive week so far for Gibbons who finished second on the opening stage (behind Australia’s Scott Sunderland), third on stage 2, third on Saturday’s queen stage and then first on stage 5. Gibbons took his stage victory by outsprinting stage 3 winner Jakub Mareczko (Wilier Trestina) and stage 2 winner Travis McCabe (UnitedHealthcare).

“From the start, getting second on stage 1 was an achievement but today was a sense of relief more than anything,” Gibbons said. “I’m just so happy to get the win for the team but also for myself. The first of my career so a very good day today.”

Saturday’s queen stage to the Cameron Highlands saw Gibbons’ Eritrean teammate Mekseb Debesay sprinting to victory ahead of Australia’s Cameron Bayly (IsoWhey-SwissWellness). Gibbons was third, four second behind at the head of a small chase group.

With three stages now remaining, Gibbons leads the GC by 23 seconds ahead of Bayly, with Wilier Trestina’s Alberto Cecchina in third, another four seconds behind.

Stage 5: Meru Raya > Kuala Kubu Bharu - Stage Result

Sunday 26th February 2017

1. za
Dimension Data
2. it
Wilier Triestina
3. us
UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team