Roglic wins TT Itzulia Basque Country, Australians set new world record: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

April 6, 2018

Roglic wins TT at Itzulia Basque Country, grabs race lead; Pieters wins stage 2 of the Healthy Ageing; Tour; Martin wins stage 3 of the Circuit de la Sarthe; Dyball continues to lead in Thailand; Bevin goes close to success at Itzulia Basque Country; Sagan, Cavendish, Kittel, Ewan confirmed for Amgen Tour of California sprints; Australian team pursuit squad smash world record en route to Commonwealth Games gold; Women’s track team sweeps up two Commonwealth Games gold medals; Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio gives up Commonwealth Games slot; 3T updates Exploro with new Fango carbon gravel fork; Video: Sagan talks Roubaix chances; Marcus Burghardt speaks about muddy cobblestones

Sagan, Cavendish, Kittel, Ewan confirmed for Amgen Tour of California sprints

by Neal Rogers

With 17 teams announced to participate in next month’s edition of the Amgen Tour of California, one thing is clear — race fans will see a handful of the sport’s top sprinters battle it out several times over a week of competition in the Golden State.

Among those confirmed to start are world champion Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe), Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data), Marcel Kittel (Katusha-Alpecin), and Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton-Scott). Sagan, who has raced in California every year of his pro career and holds the record for California stage wins with 16, will be returning to the race he won in 2015 after a break following his spring classics campaign.

Cavendish, who has won 10 stages in California since 2009, will be using the race to return to form after a maddening early season that has seen him crash out of three consecutive races. Kittel returns to California after an early season that has seen him take a pair of wins at Tirreno-Adriatico, but also fail to make the front of the race for the final sprint at Milan-San Remo and Scheldeprijs.

Ewan will make his first trip to the Amgen Tour riding a high after taking the bunch sprint at Milan-San Remo to take second behind solo winner Vincenzo Nibali.

Click through to read more at CyclingTips.