Your Monday Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

June 19, 2017

In today’s edition of the CT Daily News Digest: Simon Spilak wins the Tour de Suisse; Silvan Dillier wins the Route du Sud; Jose Goncalves victorious at Ster ZLM Toer; Rafal Majka climbs to overall victory at the Tour of Slovenia; Kyeongho Min takes out the Tour de Korea; Siutsou to miss Tour de France after breaking leg; Operacion Puerto athletes might never be named; How to avoid a crash; Tour de Korea theme song.

Simon Spilak wins the Tour de Suisse

by CyclingTips

Simon Spilak (Katusha-Alpecin) has converted his stage 7 victory at the Tour de Suisse into his second overall success in the nine-stage WorldTour event.

Spilak won on the uphill finish to Sölden, moving himself to the top of the general classification with a lead of nearly a minute. On stage 8, the race’s penultimate stage, world champion Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) dashed to a comfortable sprint victory — his second of the week — beating Sacha Modolo (UAE Team Emirates) and Matteo Trentin (QuickStep Floors) to the line.

The 28.6km final-stage individual time trial saw Australia’s Rohan Dennis (BMC) take another stage win, adding to his victory in the prologue a week earlier. And as was the case in the prologue, Dennis’ teammate Stefan Kung was second (at 29 seconds), but on stage 9 Damiano Caruso took third (at 47 seconds), giving BMC a clean sweep of the final-stage podium.

Spilak finished fifth, 51 seconds down on Dennis, to ensure he would take his second overall Tour de Suisse title, adding to his success in the 2015 edition.

“This was a very hard day and difficult TT,” Spilak said after stage 9. “It was harder than we expected. We did our recon of the route in the morning. By this afternoon it was so hot, but I am so happy. It is my second win here. I am happy for my teammates, too. All week all of them did such a great job. Temperature is my biggest enemy here in Suisse, but I beat the heat this time.”

Stage 9 (ITT): Schaffhausen > Schaffhausen - Stage Result

Sunday 18th June 2017

1. au
BMC Racing Team
2. ch
KüNG Stefan
BMC Racing Team
3. it
CARUSO Damiano
BMC Racing Team