Your Wednesday Daily News Digest

by Neal Rogers

March 22, 2017

In today’s edition of the CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Movistar wins Stage 2 team time trial at Volta Ciclista a Catalunya, but Rojas relegated for pushing; With 2,000km now complete, Kristof Allegaert continues to lead the Indian Pacific Wheel Race ; Oleg Tinkov disparages Alberto Contador in Instagram post; Teams announced for 2017 Tour de Yorkshire; Warbasse on disc brakes in pro peloton: ‘It’s not a fight over a braking system, it’s a fight for power’; Egyptian Eslam Nasser Zaki dies at African Continental Track Cycling Championships; Video: Drone footage of Travis McCabe winning the final stage of the Tucson Bicycle Classic.

Teams announced for 2017 Tour de Yorkshire

by Neal Rogers

With just over a month to go until the 2017 Tour de Yorkshire, organisers have revealed a record 36 men’s and women’s teams will compete in the race, up from 33 in 2016. For the first time the number of women’s and men’s teams taking part will be the same.

The men’s race, which takes place between April 28-30 April, will include seven UCI WorldTour teams, five Pro Continental outfits, and six British-based squads competing, with Aqua Blue Sport, Bike Channel Canyon, and Delko Marseille Provence KTM making their debuts. The Asda Women’s Tour de Yorkshire, held Saturday April 29, will host 11 of the 14 top-ranked teams in the world alongside seven domestic squads.

“This is the largest field we have ever assembled and the quality of it reflects the high esteem in which our race is held,” said Welcome to Yorkshire Chief Executive Gary Verity. “Having the very best teams in the business coming to Yorkshire is a massive coup, but it is also important to us that British-based teams have the opportunity to pit themselves against the world’s finest riders.”

Team rosters will not be unveiled until mid-April, although Thomas Voeckler is back to defend his title and Lizzie Deignan (nee Armitstead) has also confirmed her attendance in her home county.

The Tour de Yorkshire was launched in 2015 to extend the legacy of the 2014 Yorkshire Grand Départ. The men’s race is a three-day event with a 2.1 UCI Europe Tour classification. The single-day Asda Women’s Tour de Yorkshire was awarded 1.2 status in 2016. Two million spectators lined the route for the 2016 edition, up from 1.5 million in 2015.

The full list of teams for the 2017 Tour de Yorkshire:

7 UCI WorldTour teams
BMC Racing, Orica- Scott, Dimension Data, Katusha Alpecin, Lotto NL-Jumbo, Sky, and Sunweb.

5 UCI Pro Continental teams
Aqua Blue Sport, Cofidis, Delko Marseille Provence KTM, Direct Energie, and Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij.

5 UCI Continental teams
Bike Channel Canyon, JLT Condor, Madison Genesis, One Pro Cycling, Raleigh GAC.

1 National team
Team Great Britain

The full list of teams for the 2017 Asda Women’s Tour de Yorkshire:

Ale Cipollini, Bepink Cogeas, Boels Dolmans, Canyon-SRAM, Cervelo-Bigla, Cylance, Drops, FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope, Fusion RT Fierlan, Hitec Products,  Lares-Waowdeals, NCC Group-Kuota-Torelli, Storey Racing, Ford EcoBoost, Jadan Weldtite, Sunweb, WNT, and Wiggle High5.