Your Monday Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

May 29, 2017

In today’s edition of the CT Daily News Digest: Tom Dumoulin wins the 100th Giro d’Italia; Jens Keukeleire wins the Baloise Belgium Tour; Edvald Boasson Hagen wins Tour des Fjords; Marianne Vos wins Gooik-Geraardsbergen-Gooik for a third time; Oscar Pujol wins the Tour of Japan, Nathan Earle second; Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio goes back-to-back with French double; Quintana believes late sickness cost him the Giro; Stijn Vandenbergh released from hospital, two weeks after crash; Transcontinental Race to continue in 2017; Davide Cimolai hit by a car in training; Vulpine saved from administration by Mango Bikes; Giuseppe Fonzi’s Giro nod to Happy Days; Behind the scenes of Tom Dumoulin’s Giro win.

Tom Dumoulin wins the 100th Giro d’Italia

by Neal Rogers

Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) has become the first Dutchman to win the Giro d’Italia after using his strength against the clock to leapfrog three riders in the final-stage individual time trial in Milan.

Colombian Nairo Quintana (Movistar) started the day in the maglia rosa of race leader but couldn’t defend his lead, losing 1:39 to Dumoulin and dropping to second overall. Two-time Giro winner Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) rounded out the GC podium.

Dumoulin scorched around the flat 29.3km course in 33:23, fast enough for second place on the stage. His compatriot Jos Van Emden (LottoNL-Jumbo) was 15 seconds quicker to win the stage — his first Grand Tour stage win — adding to a big day for Dutch cycling.

“It’s great. It’s really crazy. I cannot describe it with words,” Dumoulin said. “It was such a nerve-wracking day. I needed to stay calm, but I almost couldn’t. But I did it. I had good legs, and I just went for it.”

Dumoulin had come into the final stage in fourth place, 0:53 behind Quintana. Nibali had been second, at 39 seconds, with Thibaut Pinot (FDJ), the winner of stage 20, another four seconds back in third. Dumoulin’s win is his first Grand Tour GC victory and the first Dutch Grand Tour win since Joop Zoetemelk won the Tour de France in 1980.

Follow the link to read more at CyclingTips.