Your Friday Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

February 3, 2017

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Degenkolb wins rough and tumble Dubai sprint; Damien Howson takes Sun Tour lead with solo victory on Falls Creek; Kristoff fires back with win at Etoile de Bessèges, stage 2; Tony Martin solos to win at Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana; Stuyven forging his own path despite past comparisons with Classics kings; Grivko punches Kittel amidst tense crosswinds in Dubai; Should welfare come before winning?; Canyon coming to the US market by summer; Judge rules against lawsuit over Dekker’s tell-all book; Pair recreates 1928 Aussie-Kiwi Tour de France ride in documentary; Cadel Evans joins ride for veterans with PTSD; Video: Crosswinds wreak havoc in Dubai; Skoda ad features career of Bradley Wiggins.

Tony Martin solos to win at Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana

by Mark Zalewski

In his first stage race with his new Katusha-Alpecin team Tony Martin wasted no time in showing that he was worthy of his contract, soloing to win the second stage of the Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana. The time trial world champ won by 11 seconds over Pim Ligthart (Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij) and Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo) in third.

The parcours featured many climbs with an early break trying to stay away on the difficult route. However, that group faltered and on the final climb of the Alto de Montgó David De La Cruz (Quick-Step Floors) launched an attack that was covered by Martin.

Martin eventually dropped De La Cruz a crested the climb along. With 6km to go to the finish Denia he used his time trial skills to hold off the chasers.

Greg Van Avermat (BMC) finished in a group 19 seconds behind, and takes over the race lead from his teammate Manuel Senni.

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) finished in the third group at 12 seconds, moving him up the GC and in good position to contend for the final overall.

Stage 2: Alicante > Denia - Stage Result

Thursday 2nd February 2017

1. de
Team Katusha - Alpecin
2. nl
Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij
3. si
ROGLIč Primož
Team LottoNL-Jumbo